NTLDR is missing... again!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Mr Wolf, Jul 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mr Wolf

    Mr Wolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Hi to all!
    So... I cloned my hard disk with True Image and I get this problem, and it seems to be a common problem; however, I couldnt' find a working solution for me

    I have a laptop with a hard disk with two partitions: on one (C) it is installed Windows 98 and on the other one (D) Windows XP and, as I said, I made an image of the whole hard disk with True Image Home 2009 and restored it on another hard disk, but, when I try to boot from the hard disk on which I cloned the partitions, I get "NTLDR is missing"

    I tried to boot from the Windows XP CD, and from the Recovery console I tried:
    "fixboot" and "fixmbr"
    I also tried to copy "ntldr", "ntedectet.com", "bootsect.dos" in C, but I always get "NTLDR is missing"!!!

    Anyone could suggest another solution?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Did you Clone or make an Image or did you try both methods? Two very different processes. What you said is confusing. Try a reverse clone - put the new drive in the laptop and clone to it.
     
  3. Mr Wolf

    Mr Wolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Hi!

    I made an image of my whole hard disk and then restored it in another hard disk

    Actually, I also tried as you said, that is I cloned my hard disk directly to another disk
    I tried it in two ways: I put both the hard disks in USB boxes and connected them to a computer, and then cloned one hard disk to the other one, but I got always "NTLDR is missing"; then, I also tried to clone the hard disk while it was inserted in the notebook and the OS was running to another disk connected via USB, and this time it worked

    But I'd need to clone the disk to an image to keep it and be able to restore it when I need it
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Mr Wolf,

    It's hard to understand what you are doing. Read up on the terminology and we may be able to help.

    http://www.goodells.net/multiboot/notes.htm#note14
     
  5. TitusAduxas

    TitusAduxas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    Hi

    This is a problem I have faced many times. Have you checked the bios to ensure your machine is booting from C: and not partition D: ? Check the disk sequence it may be you have D: set as boot disk in which case the error missing ntldr will occur as the file should be on the boot disk.

    TA
     
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    On those occassions when I have had this issue after a restore or clone switch ith ATI, resetting the BIOS for which harddisk to boot from was the fix.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.