NTFS versus FAT Format

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by donwhit, Nov 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. donwhit

donwhit Registered Member

I just had my first hard disc crash in twenty years and it has been horrific to say the least. I have purchased an external WD 320 gig (USB) hard drive (FAT format) that comes with their software which is pretty basic. I am a web designer with roughly 60 gigs of programs/files/jpegs/movies, etc.

I am looking to buy this program for a complete system back up that could be re-installed on a NTFS formated hard drive should I ever have another disaster like this.

Question: Does my external hard drive which is FAT have to be re-formatted to NTFS or will it work just fine as is?

Question: Not being familiar with any backup programs, if such a failure occurred, how do you access the external drive to restore to an internal C: drive.

Thanks for any help you might give me.

2. Tabvla

Tabvla Registered Member

Hi Donwhit, welcome to the ATI Forum :D

I am assuming that you run under Windows XP Home or Pro.

1. NTFS / FAT

As I am sure that you are aware the NTFS format is far superior in every respect to the FAT format. Therefore, seeing that you don't have anything on the new disk it would be advisable to reformat it as NTFS as there is no benefit to keeping it as a FAT drive.

One reason why you would want to keep a FAT partition is if you had a Boot Manager on your system disk that used DOS as its operating system and therefore required a FAT partition. Or if you had some legacy applications running under DOS.

2. Accessing the USB drive

If your system disk/partition fails you then boot using the ATI bootable CD which runs a Linux kernel and which has a full version of ATI on the CD.

Some things to consider......