NoVirusThanks OSArmor: An Additional Layer of Defense

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by novirusthanks, Dec 17, 2017.

  1. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,853
    No issues. Emsisoft flagging it as malware though.
     
  2. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    novirusthanks please see you pm :)
     
  3. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    Thanks so much, looks a useful tool :thumb:
     
  4. Tomin2009

    Tomin2009 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Posts:
    94
    Support XP?I've installed it but couldn't see the trayicon of OSArmor.
     
  5. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,971
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    Installation file is much heavier - ca 6 MB instead of 1,8...the changes must be very important :isay:
     
  6. guest

    guest Guest

    some fonts are heavy :p
     
  7. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,286
    The file OSArmorDevSvc.exe is now obfuscated with a software protector (perhaps Themida or something similar) and the compression ratio is not very good for those kind of files.
    They are using Inno Setup for the creation of the installer, and because it can't compress those files very good (and both versions of the file x86/x64 are inside the installer) the size of the installer is much bigger now.
     
  8. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,286
    OSArmor monitors and blocks suspicious processes on Windows
    https://www.ghacks.net/2017/12/19/osarmor/
     
  9. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,130
    Location:
    Italy
    @ NoVirusThanks

    Hi.
    Some questions:

    1) Can it be installed with MBAE?

    2) If yes,is it necessary to disable the Anti-Exploit Protection?

    TH.

    C'è la neve a Perugia ? :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2017
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi Andreas

    I need to wait until you can add an exclusion feature. When I turned on this morning I had at least 4 utilities that need exceptions.

    Pete
     
  11. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,398
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    On this regard, any conflicts with Win 10 1709 Windows Defender Exploit Guard?
     
  12. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    Does anyone know if there is a 'portable version' thanks
     
  13. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,577
    There is no portable version yet. Don't know if one is in the works, but I don't think so.
     
  14. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,286
    NoVirusThanks OS Armor v1.2 is available :)
     
  15. novirusthanks

    novirusthanks Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Italy
    New version v1.2 is available:
    http://www.novirusthanks.org/products/osarmor/

    [19-Dec-2017] v1.2.0.0

    + Block processes named like *keygen* or *crack* (unchecked by default)
    + Block execution of schtasks.exe is now unchecked by default
    + Prevent Regsvr32.exe from using /i: powershell
    + Fixed some false positives

    @Sampei Nihira

    1) Yes, they should not have conflicts;
    2) No, I think you can keep it enabled;

    Ancora nulla, speriamo arrivi per Natale :D

    @Peter2150

    If you've not yet deleted the log files, please send them to me via PM or paste them there.

    @itman

    No, should work fine with W10 Exploit Guard enabled.

    @hayc59

    There will be no portable version, it needs to be installed in the system to work properly.

    @mood

    You were faster :)
     
  16. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,577
    Installed the new version five minutes ago. Thank you.:thumb:
     
  17. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,974
    Location:
    Canada
    Can it be installed with VS or is it overkill?
     
  18. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,577
    Don't know if it's overkill but it can be installed with VS, which is also part of my current security setup.
     
  19. jimb949

    jimb949 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Posts:
    129
    Location:
    LA
    When a FP pops up the dialog box should show an option to (allow or deny the execution).
     
  20. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    Yes, the latest 1.2 version fixed a little rundll32 issue on here, the shortest-lived issue on here ever. :) I simply installed over the top of the previous and that's it. Secure boot is still disabled on here so I'll wait the week or so until that is resolved. :)
     
  21. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,974
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks Buddel, I guess I will try it too.
     
  22. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi Andreas

    WIll install 1.2 and see what happens. Will send the logs this t ime.
     
  23. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,715
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Same here regarding Secure Boot but boy that Lab is in high gear right now.

    Thanks for another improved version as it climbs the ladder to another security success
     
  24. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    Thank you for the portable answer makes sense
     
  25. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    That to bad maybe Developer of the program and Voodoo Dan can get together and work it out??
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.