NoVirusThanks EXE Radar & SecureAPlus Freemium

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Osaban, Jul 26, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    This isn't an A versus B comparison per se, but I'd rather like to have some comments as of how efficient these programs are in terms of white-listing and anti executable capabilities. I'm trialing SecureAPlus without the AV and so far it has played very well with my Vista machine and queried some benign application not on the white list. The only aspect I don't like is its business model which is yearly subscription.

    NoVirusthanks EXE Radar seems to be dealing only with white-listing and anti-executable and has a life license model (a definite plus). I'm planning to test it on my Win 8 machine soon. So here it is, any comments will be appreciated.
    I used in the past Faronics Anti Executable, which was excellent with XP, but awfully buggy with Vista. If I can find a real anti-executable again I might stop using an AV in the future for good.
     
  2. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    2,204
    Location:
    in a remote land :)
    ERP is a sure product
    Appguard is another sure anti-exec.
    ERP + Appguard is killer combo, no need AVs anymore
     
  3. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    424
    Location:
    Canada
    Don't ERP and Appguard basically do the same thing? Please explain why using these 2 would not require an AV? Thanks.
     
  4. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,134
    Location:
    USA
    I have used both but lean towards ERP
     
  5. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,697
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    For a moment, I thought OP was talking about SAP, not AG.....
     
  6. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    2,204
    Location:
    in a remote land :)
    i will explain very simply without entering into details.

    yes and no , basically they are both anti-executable some users here use both of them because when you install something you have to reduce AG protection, then ERP is used as a failsafe.

    What does an AV do (i talk about the engine, not the HIPS/BB they may have) ?

    it scan in real-time each file you have against a list (its signature database) then trigger a response or not based on it; but the AV is always active and each of your moves on the system are monitored.

    anti-executables don't scan every files, they sit on your system then kicks-in only when a executable (or more depend the product) is launched; saving resources and responsiveness for your system.
     
  7. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    Indeed the thread title states clearly EXE Radar & SecureAPlus. I know that the best way to find out is to do my own tests, but sometimes people might come up with experiences that might save me some time...
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,053
    Hi digmor

    What an AV does is examine the file and see if there is something that matches a known bad signature. ERP is a whitelilsting antiexecutable with some powerful features. For example when Rundll32 is executed, no av can tell you whether what it is doing is good or bad. With ERP know safe command line strings can be whitelisted, so they will remain silent but if Rundll32 is executed with an unknown string you get an alert. It does this with several other potentially dangerous exe's like cmd.exe and wscript.exe.

    Appguard takes a different tack. Say for example you get a PDF file to look at. You can scan it with a AV, with 3 possible outcomes. 1) Really infected, 2) AV doesn't detect infection or 3) false positive. With Appguard it doesn't matter because to be effective the infection has to be able to install something in the system and Appguard blocks that.

    Together Appguard and ERP are truly a powerful combo.

    Now to be totally honest, I do actually run the EIS beta, which of course has a AV component, but I do it a) because I am a tester for EMSISOFT, b) I want their new firewall, and it is good to be able to occasionally want to scan a file.

    But bottom line ERP is a powerful addition to your system, and the support is outstanding.

    Pete
     
  9. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    I would still run an antivirus on a schedule (i do this with hitman pro) then have it exit so there is no overhead to the system.

    Yes its unlikely to be infected with AG and AE but you dont know for sure until its scanned.
    Also you may have setup AG or AE in a flawed way which allows a system to be infected.
     
  10. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    424
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks guys. Got it.
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,053
    One thing I forgot to mention re the no AV thing. I ran for 3 years with SBIE, and ERP when it came out, Appguard when it came out, with no windows updates, and no AV or AS. Never had a single piece of malware hit me.
     
  12. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I prefer EXE Radar over SecureAPlus, purely based on GUI and ease of use. :)

    I also prefer EXE Radar + HIPS over AppGuard, because you get stronger protection.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2014
  13. buckslayr

    buckslayr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Posts:
    484
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Any special settings to make them coexist peacefully?
     
  14. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    2,204
    Location:
    in a remote land :)
    I just whitelisted AG in ERP , added ERP in publishers of AG. Nothing fancy ^^

    Then both set on lockdown mode

    Others members surely have variants ;)
     
  15. buckslayr

    buckslayr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Posts:
    484
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Sounds like a nice tight setup!
     
  16. buckslayr

    buckslayr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Posts:
    484
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Bought an ExeRadar Pro license. Running smoothly alongside new Appguard beta. Thanks for the help.
     
  17. WSFfan

    WSFfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Posts:
    374
    Location:
    The Earth
    :thumb::D
     
  18. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    2,204
    Location:
    in a remote land :)
    Yes very lol, i cant install or run any exe until i get out of lockdown mode
     
  19. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    Yes, basically they all decided that AG is a better topic for discussion....
     
  20. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    2,204
    Location:
    in a remote land :)
    indeed a just put my opinion about ERP and i mentioned about AG since Osaban seems not satisfied with SAP licensing model , didn't expected that my small input about AG will hijack the thread :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.