Novice needs advice on cloning

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Baz63, Apr 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Baz63

Baz63 Registered Member

I've bought and downloaded Acronis True image and Acronis Disk director. The plan is to copy the whole of my hardrive onto another to protect against a catastrophic malfunction of the HD. I'm a complete novice at this so forgive the basic questions.

I have created an emergency bootable disc and a secure zone.

I've read the relevant parts of the users guide and FAQ and had a trawl of the forum. One or two things need clarifying.

1) Am I right in assuming it's the 'clone disk' feature I use to replicate the whole of my hardrive, rather than 'add new disk'? I read some criticisms of the clone feature on some of the threads advising using the back up feature if you want to copy the hardrive.

2) When a back up archive is created is it created on the same hardrive? I don't understand how you can protect yourself by backing up stuff on the same hardrive because you will lose it should the HD suffer a catastrophic break down.

3) I have bought an identical hardrive to clone my current HD onto. I've no idea what I do with it . I'm assuming I will have to make the new HD a slave before I can clone my current HD. Is that right? Will I have to do anything to the new hardrive before I use it as the clone? Will I have to install it or do anything to the new hardrive before I clone my current HD onto it? I can't find info in the Acronis literature on how to set up the new hardrive with a view to using it as the clone. I need to know where I plug things in.

4) Intend to partition my current hardrive (98 gb of photos videos etc). Am I right in assuming I should clone it first and then partition it? Sounds the best thing to do in case the partitioning goes wrong.

2. Chutsman

Chutsman Registered Member