Not too eager to upgrade to Malwarebytes 3.2

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Page42, Sep 3, 2017.

  1. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,707
    Location:
    USA
    I've been reading the Malwarebytes forum threads on this most recent upgrade to 3.2 and I'll tell you, it doesn't look promising. So I keep saying No to the insistent nag screens that implore me to upgrade.

    I suppose I could create a new Macrium Reflect backup and then take the Malwarebytes 3.2 plunge, but based on what I read and my own experiences, it doesn't seem like it is worth the hassle.

    I run two 7x64 computers. Used to have Malwarebytes on both, but it made one machine run very slow, so I uninstalled it from that computer. Now I just run it real-time on one machine. But with the recent MRG Effitas Q2 2017 results wherein Malwarebytes was a FAIL in several categories, I'm looking for some opinions and experiences from fellow Wilders members with this security program!

     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi Page

    I am always suspect over some test results. I haven't tested 3.2, but previous 3.1 versions weren't all that bad. Note at some point in the near future support for 2.2 versions will cease.

    Pete
     
  3. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    5,145
    Location:
    USA still the best. But barely.
    I was hoping to come back to MBAM3 Free on W7P64. But the early MBAM3 stopped working. I was using Free. Maybe I will maybe I won't. If I do I'll report back.

    Right now to take MBAM job as a secondary scanner I'm using Glarysoft Malware Hunter Free with the Avira engine. I am pleasantly surprised.

    So in RT I have BDIS2018. EEK & Glarysoft Malware Hunter Free as on-demand. 3 great engines.
     
  4. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    3,836
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    At least you are being offered the update. I know they want to slowly roll new updates out to prevent swamping the servers, but I have yet to even be offered the update and it has been 2 weeks since it was released.

    And when I manually tell Malwarebytes to check, it says I am Current or No updates are available. :( That bugs me.

    I realize I can go out and get it and install it manually (as I have on my test systems), but I should not have to. For my primary computers I like to get it (and other updates) and install them the same way my clients do so if any problems, I can be on the same page as them.

    ~ Removed OFF Topic Remarks ~

    Millions and millions of users have already upgraded with no problems. And 3.2 works fine on my test systems. If you are being offered the update, I would get it.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 4, 2017
  5. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,707
    Location:
    USA
    ~ Removed Off Topic Remarks ~

    Each and every one of those forum complaints represents a lot of hardship and wasted time on behalf of someone, and it sincerely matters not to them that millions of others (or whatever the actual number might be) are doing fine. It's a crappy fall-back line used by tech support people far too often to say, well, you are one of few who have complained. Heck, I bet that for every posted issue, there are untold numbers of people who experience trouble with a program and just yank the damn thing off their computer and never look back, never say another word.

    But I do thank you, Bill, for your response, and I hope the server gets around to you soon so you can install 3.2! :thumb:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 4, 2017
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I just did a clean install of 3.2 Went okay and 3.2 seems fine.
     
  7. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    5,145
    Location:
    USA still the best. But barely.
    Just like before. I get:
    "Network Error - Unable to contact update server. Please check your internet connection."

    Uninstalling.
     
  8. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    775
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I upgraded to 3.2. Very pleased, because I was one of the problem people when 3 first came out. Been going smooth for me for a couple months now - even 3.2.2 causing no problems.
     
  9. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,707
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Pete,

    I guess it comes down to who and what each of us decides to believe. The testing organization that posted bad results for Malwarebytes is, afaik, a reputable source. I'd be interested in knowing if Malwarebytes has a response to the MRG Effitas Q2 2017 results?
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I believe in my own results as I know what I've done. MB3 is a pretty good product
     
  11. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,707
    Location:
    USA
    I've been a customer since 2008. But these days I am questioning their quality control and their detection rate.
    Some products, like Sandboxie, I have no hesitation about installing their BETA releases. Always very reliable. Malwarebytes, on the other hand, I will not install their final releases until a lot of time has elapsed and I have reviewed what others have to say. Kinda' like MS Updates.
     
  12. Abdallah

    Abdallah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Posts:
    124
    Location:
    N/A
    For me I uninstalled MWB after less than one month of replacing HMPA, and all because of 3.2.

    A bluescreen popup after upgrading to 3.2 and when rebooting and unistalling 3.2 then installing 3.1 again it appears that it was a hypred version of 3.1 and 3.2 ! and some of its main security components ( anti exploit ) stay disabled !

    I will not reinstall it until I see more fixes and reviews.

    PS: I am still facing some random bluescreens from time to time when starting my device, yes its my fault as I am not using any good backup system these days, BTW built-in system restore failed badly !
     
  13. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,707
    Location:
    USA
    I took the plunge. Created a full system backup, then up upgraded to 3.2.2.2018. Hoping for the best here. Time will tell.
     
  14. Baserk

    Baserk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1,321
    Location:
    AmstelodamUM
    Did a manual install of 3.2 on a Win7Pro and a Win10Home system. No issues, everything runs fine.
     
  15. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,392
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    No problems upgrading to 3.2.2 on two machines.
     
  16. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,292
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    I've updated 3 Pc's(7,8.1,10)to v 3.2.2 and all are working perfectly fine and two of them are using BD AVP with NO exclusions!, There's thousands of PC's using 3.2 just fine I do recommend using there clean tool and reboot vs. installing over top just because.
     
  17. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    3,836
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    It never hurts to have a current system backup but frankly, that was probably a bit overkill. Problems encountered with the Malwarebytes updates have involved Malwarebytes. They have not broken Windows. Still, I cannot fault your decision. Having a current backup is always a wise precaution.

    Do note that Malwarebytes is one of the few (perhaps only) antimalware solutions that plays well with other antimalware products. For my main systems, I have both Malwarebytes and Windows Defender running in real time with absolutely no problems with conflicts or degraded performance. If you wish to use both, and I see no reason why not, open Malwarebytes and click on Settings > Application and scroll down to Windows Action Center and tick "Never register Malwarebytes in the Windows Action Center". This will signal (or not signal) Windows to leave Windows Defender's real-time components enabled.
     
  18. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    I'm sticking with 2.2 as long as I can. I have no intention of upgrading to v3 period. I've seen it, and I don't like it. And since I can't lock down Win7 the same way I can XP I feel safer running a real-time AV on my Win7 machine. So I'll have to migrate to something else. I really liked Emsisoft AV when I used it in the past. I've never been a real-time AV user, and have no idea what does and doesn't test well these days. But really, as odd as it may seem that's like the lowest priority on my list of criteria. Footprint and not creating overlap with existing 3'rd party security apps is most important, since the odds of me being infected are roughly the same as being struck by lightning. Or at least, that is the case on XPosReady.

    And while we're at it, I'm really not looking forward to the day I have to abandon that OS (in 2022 most likely). It's still my favorite OS ever and what I use on my main machine.
     
  19. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    3,836
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Tests don't really matter because they are all artificial and synthetic and regardless the testers' claims, do not represent the real-world scenarios of the day. The only real purpose they serve is for marketing fluff for the makers who rely on subscriptions to premium/pro versions and advertising revenue and/or install add-ons - which means basically everyone but Windows Defender.
    That's a cavalier attitude. Contrary to what you may believe, none of us here are smarter than the smart bad guys.

    Look at Equifax. They had one job - to protect the credit of their clients and they failed. Yet surely they have top IT security experts on staff.

    Preventing infection does not take a perfect anti-malware solution alone. Because bad guys use socially engineered methods of malware distribution, and are EXTREMELY clever at it, preventing infection also takes flawless and consistent user discipline and awareness. No one reading this walks on water, nor can they be perfect 100% of the time. One tiny slip can let the bad guy in and that's where real-time protection is essential.

    Of course keeping our operating systems current is essential too. You cannot do that with an OS where the developers no longer develop updates.

    Other factors come into play as well. Not all computers have just one, and only EVER just one user. And network security can affect computer security too.
     
  20. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    Just reinstalled 3.2 and it would not update so I exited it and reopened it an now get an error when I go to check my account.
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,707
    Location:
    USA
    Glad that you cannot fault my decision.
     
  22. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,034
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  23. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,707
    Location:
    USA
    Two weeks+ after upgrading, and all is well. I wanted to report that, given my intitial doubts and concerns.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.