Not Enough Priviliges

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by suzieq, Jul 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. suzieq

    suzieq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    I am running vista home ultimate and I am having a problem with Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.
    Everytime I start the program I get a msg "you do not have enough privileges to start acronis disk director.
    The only way I can work around this is to turn off vistas user account control and reboot the system then is starts normally with no errors.
    How do I work around this so I can leave User account control ono_O
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    There is currently no way around this. True Image is the same way. You can either have UAC turned on and live with the message every time you run the program(s) or turn UAC off and disable all the protection it provides.
     
  3. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    suzieq:

    How is your account configured on Vista? Are you running as a standard user or are you an administrator? And how did you install DiskDirector; for only you or for all users?

    On my Vista machine I only get a regular UAC prompt when starting DD10. After acknowledging the prompt by clicking "Continue", DD10 starts (same with TI). There are no messages about not having enough privileges.

    I think that if you are a standard user then you should get a UAC prompt along with a dialog box to enter an admin password. After supplying the password, DD10 should start.

    If you don't see one of these two behaviors then I would try uninstalling/reinstalling DD10. When you go to install, right-click on the installer program and choose "Run as administrator" so that the installer runs with administrative privileges. When given a choice, install for access by all users. Finally, be sure to use the latest build 2160 which you can download from the Acronis web site after logging in to your account.
     
  4. suzieq

    suzieq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Mark I took your advice and tried to uninstall disk director. I went to programs and featurs and unistalled disk director.
    After doing that I rebooted my system and it was still present in my programs list so i clicked on it and sure enough it started right up like it had not been removed. I then double checked to make sure it was gone from program features and it is gone. So I find no way to remove this program now......
    why didn't it uninstallo_O?
     
  5. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    suzieq:

    1. Did you also install OS Selector or activate it when you originally installed DiskDirector?
    2. Look in C:\Program Files\Acronis. What's in there? If you see a folder for "Acronis Disk Director", are DiskDirector.exe and OSSelectorSetup.exe among the files in the folder?
    3. Please go to Control Panel > User Accounts > Manage User Accounts and look for your user name in the list. What group does your user name belong to?

    The answers to these questions may help us figure out what went wrong.
     
  6. suzieq

    suzieq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    I was able to work around the priviliges problem leaving the user account control on. what I have to do is right click on the icon for DD10 and run as administrator. This will let the program run. If not you get a very annoying msg not enough priviliges notice and it will not let the program launch.

    Thanks,
     
  7. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    OK; I'm glad that you have it working but it should not behave that way. From what you said, you are a member of the Administrator group, so you should be able to start the program without being denied permission to run it.

    Are you using the latest build 2160? If not, then that might explain the behavior. If so, then you could try reinstalling but this time right-click on the installer and choose "Run as Administrator".

    If this is successful, this is all that you should see when starting DiskDirector (except the prompt will mention DiskDirector by name):
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.