Not Creating Image (TI 7)

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Ezmerelda, May 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ezmerelda

    Ezmerelda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Trying to create a full back-up image of my C drive but it doesn't seem to be working today.

    I choose "create image" and go thru the steps in the Wizard, clicking "proceed" on the last step. That gets me here:

    http://colliope.com/screenshots/Acronis.jpg

    but no further.

    I make a full image once a month and have never had a problem before so I don't know what's going wrong today.

    Dell Dimension 8250
    Win XP Home, SP2
    Acronis True Image 7.0 (build 63:cool:

    Thanks,
    Ez
     

    Attached Files:

  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Do you run any software to clean out the Temp, Temporary Internet Files, and Cookies folders? Also do you use anything to clean the Registry?
     
  3. Ezmerelda

    Ezmerelda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Posts:
    5

    Before making an Image, I always first use XP's Disc Cleanup (under Performance and Maintenance) to delete temp files, etc. I check everything listed except "compress old files" because I don't like the way that turns file names blue. Then I run full scans with AdAware, Windows Defender and sometimes Spybot Search & Destroy. Last, I defrag, although today it said it didn't need defragging.

    I never, ever tinker with the registry, so the answer to your second question would be no.

    Ez
     
  4. dbknox

    dbknox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Canada
    Have you tried with your "rescue disk"?
    If not try it and see if it works.
     
  5. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Have you run the Error Checking with both boxes checked. Right click on the C drive and pick Properties. Error Checking is on the Tools tab. The check with take quite a while and run the next time you boot the system.

    Have you made any changes to the system since the last time you successfully made an image? New software, new hardware?

    If Error Checking doesn't find anything and you still can't make images, try uninstalling and reinstalling TrueImage.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Ezmerelda,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure that the Acronis Scheduler 2 Service is started and both schedhlp.exe and schedul2.exe processes are running (use Windows Task Manager).

    Please note that you can run the schedhlp.exe and schedul2.exe (\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\Schedule2) manually in Windows Task Manager (File->New Task) or do the following:

    - Download schedmgr.exe application;

    - Start the Command Prompt from Start -> Programs -> Accessories menu;

    - Run the following command in the folder you saved the file to: schedmgr.exe service start

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  7. Ezmerelda

    Ezmerelda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Re: Not Creating Image (TI 7) - Fixed

    schedhlp.exe was not on my Processes list so I added it manually as a new task per your directions and that did the trick - I can create an Image now.

    Thankyou,

    ez
     
  8. Ezmerelda

    Ezmerelda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Re: Not Creating Image (TI 7) - Hmm

    Tried to make a new image today and same problem. I checked, and as before, schedhlp.exe was not in running processes. I added it again as above and made my Image.

    Is there any known problem/conflict with a another program that might be turning off that process?

    Ez
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Re: Not Creating Image (TI 7) - Hmm

    Hello Ezmerelda,

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Please follow the instructions provided in this post to changed Acronis Scheduler2 Service configuration.

    If the problem persists, please provide perform the actions described in this post.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  10. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Re: Not Creating Image (TI 7) - Hmm

    Go to Msconfig and find the schedhlp.exe listing in the Startup Tab. Put a check mark in the box and click apply and then re-boot. If this doesn't work then do a repair install of TI.
     
  11. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Did you try the suggestion in message #4?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.