Not able to reboot with ESS

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by pcscon, May 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pcscon

    pcscon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hello,

    I have just installed ESS .650 on my laptop. When I want to reboot, I see a flash of a message that seems like a ESS firewall message. I goes very fast so I cannot read it. My only option then is to shut down the laptop and then it starts up again without problems.

    I use default setup and run Automatic mode.

    Any ideas ?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Capp

    Capp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,125
    Location:
    United States
    Did you happen to have another Antivirus installed before you installed ESS?

    Do you have any other real-time running programs along with ESS?

    Have you checked the Event Log to see if there are any applications hanging during shutdown?
     
  3. pcscon

    pcscon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Denmark
    The laptop (Lenovo) was delivered with a OEM version of Symantec antivirus which I have removed before installation.

    No other real-time programs. That should be covered by ESS (all-in-one).

    I have pasted my event log here:

    21-05-2008 17:52:37 Incorrect TCP packet checksum 0
    21-05-2008 17:38:12 Incorrect TCP packet checksum 0
    21-05-2008 03:33:11 Detected ARP cache poisoning attack 0
    21-05-2008 03:23:10 Detected ARP cache poisoning attack 0
    21-05-2008 03:13:09 Detected ARP cache poisoning attack 0
    21-05-2008 03:03:08 Detected ARP cache poisoning attack 0
    21-05-2008 02:12:22 Detected ARP cache poisoning attack 0
    20-05-2008 19:15:03 Detected ARP cache poisoning attack 0
    20-05-2008 16:52:43 Detected ARP cache poisoning attack 0
    20-05-2008 03:21:28 Detected ARP cache poisoning attack 0
    20-05-2008 03:11:27 Detected ARP cache poisoning attack 0
    20-05-2008 03:01:27 Detected ARP cache poisoning attack 0
    20-05-2008 02:51:25 Detected ARP cache poisoning attack 0
    20-05-2008 02:41:24 Detected ARP cache poisoning attack 0
    20-05-2008 02:31:23 Detected ARP cache poisoning attack 0
    20-05-2008 01:56:12 Detected ARP cache poisoning attack 0
     
  4. Capp

    Capp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,125
    Location:
    United States
    Did you use the Symantec uninstaller through Add/Remove Programs? Did you also uninstall the LiveUpdate that comes with Symantec?

    Also, the event log you posted appears to be your firewall log from within ESS.

    can you check through you System Event Log (Control Panel | Administrative Tools | Event log) and look under the System and Application listing to see if you see anything that could indicate it hanging.
     
  5. pcscon

    pcscon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Denmark
    I checked the add/remove programs that I used to remove Symantec Antivirus. You were right Symantec Liveupdate was still there and after removing it, I could reboot without problems.

    Thanks a lot !
     
  6. Capp

    Capp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,125
    Location:
    United States
    WooHoo! glad you got it working.

    :D :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.