NoScript discussion thread

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by MrBrian, Dec 10, 2014.

  1. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
  2. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
  3. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    In changelog for v2.6.9.7:
     
  4. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    In changelog for v2.6.9.8:
     
  5. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,968
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. The most important fix in Version 2.6.9.8 was...
    Both URLVoid and VirusTotal would not work yesterday; they are fine now, after the fix.
     
  6. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I am still using 2.6.9.3 but just now tested all the versions up to 2.6.9.8. Virus Total was broken by 2.6.9.7. And indeed, the problem was fixed in 2.6.9.8.

    Bo
     
  7. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,968
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Bo, thanks for confirming it!
     
  8. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Ah, NoScript. I remember questioning the point of it when I had SBIE and all those other security software on Firefox.

    Never got used to whitelisting scripts, too much of an explorer of the web for that. But thanks to tools like uBlock, I can blacklist scripts and still have som protection with far less hassle.
     
  9. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi J L, you can black list as well as white list domains with NoScript. I think its best to do a little bit of both. Thats what I do. In my mind, I have a third list, its a short list, I call it the Limbo list. My Limbo sites are not white listed or black listed but are sites that I rarely allow but do sometimes in specific sites. This sites are in my mind, I know what they are and know the specific sites where I allow them. Using NoScript is very easy and not a hassle, J L.

    Sandboxie and NoScript, Why? Very simple. Distractions that move, flashing ads, all of that disappears. Using NoScript makes it easier to focus on whats important in webpages. Pages load faster, less resources are used. An example, I have a few sites that I go to regularly that execute scripts from 11 or more domains but by whitelisting and blacklisting sites, only three of the eleven domains load scripts.:cool:

    Bo
     
  10. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    True, but with all the no-brainer adblockers these days, I'm spoilt for choice. Did try whitelisting third-party scripts on uBlock, but got tired of it in the end.
     
  11. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I never tried UBlock and probably never will. But if you take the practical approach to NoScript, after a while, all of the sudden, things start making sense.

    And even when you go to a new site that might load script from 20 domains, just by looking at the names, you can pretty much tell what not to allow and if you are a SBIE user, you can practice sandboxed. Do trial and error to figure the sites that are required to allow for you to do what you do in that site. And then after you know what to allow, you do it in another sandbox were you allow NoScript to save its settings out of the sandbox. Thats what I do.

    Bo
     
  12. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,968
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Another regression fix: Version 2.6.9.9.
     
  13. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,968
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Another regression fix: Version 2.6.9.10
     
  14. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    I haven't upgraded since v 2.6.8.16. I don't like what they've done since then, plus many of the chances have been to accommodate Australis which I do not and will not use.
     
  15. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,101
  16. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You can delete default white listed sites and create your own white list (and black list). Thats what I do.

    Bo