NoScript 10

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Nanobot, Nov 14, 2017.

  1. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,521
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I ll check this out and tell later what I find. I like the feature. The webpage looks like the old one.

    Bo
     
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,521
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Fixed.....:)

    I ran the Firefox profile manager in a sandbox and made a new profile. I found the feature working properly with it. Then I made a copy of my current storage-sync.sqlite (file were NoScript is saving settings). And paste it inside the sandboxed profile to replace the fresh storage-sync.sqlite......and still worked. I cant figure why but it did. Then I copied the storage-sync.sqlite from within the sandbox folder and paste it inside my real Firefox profile. And that did it.

    Go figure.....but is working properly.

    Sin título.jpg


    I think is a good idea to make copies of storage-sync.sqlite as backup, at least till we get the Export Import setting back. I am making copies of it every few days.

    Bo
     
  3. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,890
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    No offense, but either you don't get it, or there is a huge bug in NS. Because like I said, it is indeed possible to block first party scripts but ONLY if scripts are globally disabled. You can check it yourself: allow scripts globally, then surf to any website, and see if NS correctly is blocking first party scripts. I don't think it is currently possible.
     
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,521
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Rasheed, the Scripts globally allowed setting is not working properly right now. I reported it as a bug a few days ago.
    https://forums.informaction.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=23875

    Bo
     
  5. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,890
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK, my bad. Then we are on the same page, I thought the developer went on a different road and perhaps wanted to force people into disabling scripts globally, so this is a major bug. BTW, another example of why I prefer to use NS for quickly disabling scripts is www.dailymail.co.uk. With uBlock I couldn't figure out how to block stuff without breaking the lay-out, but with NS it's no problem. That's why I use the uBlock + Ghostery + NoScript combo.
     
  6. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,521
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I think it is a good setting. I test it every time a new version comes out. I dont use it often but there have been times when it has been handy.

    Bo
     
  7. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,521
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    A few years ago, I helped a friend figure out dailymail. It is a challenging site but it took me less than 5 minutes to figure it out. When all was over (a couple of days, back and forth PMs with him), he understood NoScript. After I showed him how to do dailymail, NoScript started making sense and went Click.

    Bo
     
  8. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    805
    Location:
    India
    Rasheed, i am curious, on what issue you are facing with uBO and dailymail.co.uk. If you want to figure it out, I can look at it and continue in uBO thread. Let me know.
    B/w I don't have any issues with that site in uBO Medium blocking mode.

    - Harsha.
     
  9. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,521
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I installed beta 10.1.5.6rc2 last night, it feels more stable than 10.1.5.5. It brings back popular "Temporarily set top-level sites to TRUSTED" option. I dont use that setting but a lot of people do. If you are experiencing freezes with Firefox, you should test this version.

    v 10.1.5.6rc2

    + "Temporarily set top-level sites to TRUSTED" option
    x [XSS] Better fix for 2nd level interactive bypass (thanks
    Masato Kinugava for reporting)
    x [XSS] Fixed user choices forgot across browser sessions
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/noscript/versions/beta?page=1#version-10.1.5.6rc2

    Bo
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,314
    Hi Bo

    How do you turn on beta's

    Pete
     
  11. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,521
    Location:
    Nicaragua
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,314
    Thanks Bo. Got it.
     
  13. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,521
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You are welcome, Pete. There is another beta that came out a little while ago :). I ll do that one tomorrow.

    Bo
     
  14. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,521
    Location:
    Nicaragua
  15. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    4,888
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I'm keeping yandex.st whitelisted because content is delivered locally by Decentraleyes.

    https://github.com/Synzvato/decentraleyes/wiki/Frequently-Asked-Questions

    By the way, mine just updated and doesn't have the "rc6 on it.
     
  16. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,835
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. Updated version 10.1.5.6 released.
     
  17. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,521
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I dont use the white list that comes with NoScript, I delete it, including yandex. As far as I can remember, I never needed yandex for nothing.

    I am using the beta, that's why it has an rc (Release candidate). It feels real good, I am sure the stable 10.1.5.6 does too. There is already out a new beta (10.1.5.7rc1). I ll move to that one tomorrow.

    Bo
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2017
  18. Alhaitham

    Alhaitham Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Egypt
    NoScript 10.1.5.7

    Released Dec. 10, 2017

    Code:
    + Settings import functionality, backward compatible with NoScript 5 formats
    
    + Settings export functionality
    
    + [XSS] The filter now automatically skips embedded documents which would normally be blocked
    
    x Base domain matching now uses a single dot rule for unknown, private or "fake" TLDs (e.g. www.acme.corp → acme.corp)
    
    x [XSS] Fixed regression from 10.1.5.6rc2 (thanks Masato Kinugava for reporting)
    
    x Better feedback for errors in the policy's debug JSON view (thanks E-Raser for RFE)
    
     
  19. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,521
    Location:
    Nicaragua
  20. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    870
    Location:
    Italy
  21. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,521
    Location:
    Nicaragua
  22. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    870
    Location:
    Italy
  23. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,521
    Location:
    Nicaragua
  24. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,521
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Beta version 10.1.5.8rc2 has been released. It has an interesting Change/Improvement not listed in the change log. Domains listed in the menu are now ...like boxed, look sharper. And the difference in size of the clock for differentiating Trusted and Temporarily trusted domains is even greater now than before.
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/noscript/versions/beta?page=1#version-10.1.5.8rc2

    v 10.1.5.8rc2
    =============================================================
    + First "Quantum" release candidate with Android support

    Sin.jpg

    Bo
     
  25. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,835
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. Updated version 10.1.5.8 released.
     
Loading...