nortons 2008 not nearly as much of a hog

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by zfactor, Nov 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    just got a bf compaq notebook i ordered and it came with 60 day norton 2008 and its really not using much in the way of resources at all. have not tried it out to much yet on this machine but total is under 25mb used.. i am very suprised but this.. ill report back once i have played with it for a bit before a full format to get rid of all the junk they install
     
  2. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    we know,

    norton was re-written completely from 2007,

    i still prefer 2007 over 2008, but hey.... thats just me :D
     
  3. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    yeah i dont like the program as a whole. i dont like the gui, nor the way its features are laid out. the firewall while i dont really like it actually seems to be pretty decent.. i was just suprised at how well it really ran.
     
  4. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Guys, no matter what Task Manager or similar says, only one way to see how much resources (ram) is used. Check free ram before and after installing it. Then you'll know what it really uses.. What you're seeing can be deceptive.

    On the other hand, performance for me with Norton is pretty good... no sign of sluggishness or system hit.
     
  5. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Does it still use the Norton Ptotection Center?
     
  6. Cloudcroft

    Cloudcroft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Posts:
    433
    Location:
    The Hill Country of Texas
    NIS 2008 still uses the Protection Center.
     
  7. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Thanx.
     
  8. Hangetsu

    Hangetsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    259
    Norton 360 is actually a very good "fire and forget" security product. It has a small footprint (smaller than NIS2008 if I recall), and web response is very good. Its also one of the few products that integrate perfectly with Vista (i.e. I didn't have any unusual quirks).

    Its what I used for a while.
     
  9. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    wow switched back to avira and i was def able to see how much faster the net was with avira than with nortons 2008. still much much lighter than nortons has been in years but imo still causes lag for me while surfing the net. but if i had not used nod or avira honeslty i prob would not have known
     
  10. Hangetsu

    Hangetsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    259
    I liked Norton 2008 except for the obtrusive bars they stuck on IE and Firefox, and made damn near impossible to turn off completely.
     
  11. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    another reason its not on my system anymore. its just so intrusive...
     
  12. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    if you dont like seeing the toolbar there, right click and disable it.

    if you think its intrusive, that seems pretty simple to me to make it go away from your eyes :)
     
  13. Hangetsu

    Hangetsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    259
    It removes it from sight, but does not turn off the services themselves (so you're still taking the performance hit).
     
  14. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    Thats not what you said though, your complaint was the 'the obtrusive bars'

    That's easy to fix :)
     
  15. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I tested both Norton 360 and Internet Security 2008, both slowed browsing on my machines compared to NOD32 and Avira Suite. Agreed with intrusiveness. Norton was designed to take over a lot of your machine-kind of like what malware does. Therefore, Norton not the best choice in my view.
     
  16. Norton360

    Norton360 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Posts:
    71
    Norton gives you anti-phising and that is why it makes the browsing a bit slow. Nod and avira does not protect you with anti phsising.
     
  17. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I use Firefox and I turned off Norton AP. Still slow.
     
  18. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126

    I have 8 mps throughput I get that measurement using Norton so I have never seen a throughout problem there. I however use tuneup to tweak the connection for broadband. Maybe you should look into tweaking the throughput...
     
  19. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    well you must of messed up the installation not intrusive at all. I get good response from my machine. Perhaps you need more mem or to clear with a registry cleaner, also use CCleaner to clean up. Maintance of machines cause oa lot of issue AV's are blamed for...
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2007
  20. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    norton is infact NO HOG!

    maybe try linux or a dos antivirus, this should suit your requirements for performance :)
     
  21. sasa843

    sasa843 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    Serbia, Europe
    Hello.

    Well said Larryb52. I also mentioned this in one of previous treads.
     
  22. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Avira Premium Security Suite certainly does ;)
     
  23. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Web pages load more slowly-that is my specific observation. I am considered by my peers to be an expert's expert, so it is not something I "messed up".

    You could not be more wrong about instrusiveness. Look at the number of files and registry entries left behind even after use of latest Norton removal tool. Simply a large number of remnants-like trying to clean out the damage of a malware infested system.
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2007
  24. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    agreed web pages def load slower no question there
     
  25. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas

    No question. Anyone that says different has not used NOD32 or Avira with or without http scanning. Norton has enough of a delay loading pages to be annoying-at least for me.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. ankupan
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,313
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.