Norton upgrading

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by trjam, Jul 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Does Norton let you upgrade to the next released version, like 2007 to 2008, or is there a charge. thank you
     
  2. ajcstr

    ajcstr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Posts:
    182
    I believe Norton is taking a "subscription" approach now in that for the one year period of your subscription you get the latest engine as well as the latest definitions. I know 2006 allowed you to upgrade to 2007 and I believe that policy is in place for 2008. You can even go to Norton's download page, download the latest version and use your 2006/2007 key to activate it. I have not tried this but I am pretty sure thats the way it works now.

    There is no charge for this until your subscription period runs out - then you pay through the nose to upgrade.
     
  3. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=837951&postcount=29

     
  4. Abeltje

    Abeltje Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Posts:
    156
    Location:
    Netherlands
    But pay attention to the maximum number of installs (I don't know what it is actually). Once you exceeded that you won't be able to activate NIS again. This is actually the only, though quite severe, drawback of NIS I found so far.
     
  5. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum

    It must be a high number... I have installed/uninstalled it many many times to play with other software and haven't had a problem (yet).
     
  6. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    If that happens you pick up the phone and call a Symantec CSR to reset the key.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. ankupan
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,329
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.