Norton Security Suite 5.1.0.29: Idle Quick Scan Forced?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by NRProia, Sep 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NRProia

    NRProia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Posts:
    111
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    Hello,

    For the past few days, Norton Security Suite 5.1.0.29 has been running a forced Idle Quick Scan on my system. I have the Idle Timeout set to 20 minutes, and the Idle Quick Scan option turned off. But I read some posts on the web that Symantec considers the Idle Quick Scan so important that it's a forced option. Has anyone else encountered this? I even uninstalled and reinstalled NSS and it still happens, not to mention that I lost all of my firewall program rule settings.

    Regards,

    Nathan
     
  2. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    Idle quick scans runs when your computer enters an idle state after a new set of virus definitions have been downloaded (which are released about 2-3 times a day). There is no way to disable these quick scans.
     
  3. NRProia

    NRProia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Posts:
    111
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    Hello,

    There is an off state for the idle quick scans, but from what I gathered on the web, Symantec has recently started to ignore it. So I adjusted my setting from off to the longest delay possible, which is quarterly. We'll see if that makes a difference or not.

    Regards,

    Nathan
     
  4. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Ireland
    Is Idle Time Scans the setting you have modified? That setting only controls Idle Full System Scan.

    Idle Quick Scan cannot be modified or disabled.
     
  5. NRProia

    NRProia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Posts:
    111
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    Hello,

    Interesting. Thanks for the info. I went to the Norton tasks manager while the idle quick scan was running, stopped it several times, but it kept restarting. It's an annoying feature to an otherwise very fine product. My CPU jumps from 15-20% to 75% while the idle quick scan is running. Also, the "quick" scan has jumped from 10 minutes to 1 hour in length.

    Regards,

    Nathan
     
  6. markcc

    markcc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    185
    Location:
    Michigan, usa
    That's one of the reasons I don't use NIS. To me this suite is set-up for people that wants everything done for them. For people that want to be informed & in control of what is going on, this is not the program for you.
     
  7. NRProia

    NRProia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Posts:
    111
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    Hello,

    Well, the NSS idle quick scan is getting worse and worse. It happens more frequently now. There must have been a LiveUpdate recently that changed the settings. I'm starting to look at other security suites now, even if I have to eat into my savings account it may be worth it.

    Regards,

    Nathan
     
  8. NRProia

    NRProia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Posts:
    111
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    Hello,

    Norton was good enough to enable the Windows Firewall after I uninstalled it. That and Microsoft Security Essentials are my main protection until I finish installing Comodo Internet Security Suite Premium. It's free, and hopefully better than Norton!

    Regards,

    Nathan
     
  9. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    Good luck!
     
  10. NRProia

    NRProia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Posts:
    111
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    Hello,

    Thanks. So far, so good. I like Comodo's HIPS feature better than Norton's, but I did disable the automatic Sandbox feature for now. I also switched from Norton DNS to Comodo Secure DNS and am back to using WOT. I just visited the Norton homepage, and there's no mention of the forced unstoppable non-idle quick scan "feature". I would certainly consider going back to Norton someday (their full scan performance is rated better than Comodo's) but I would download a trial version to test for hidden features first.

    Regards,

    Nathan

    P.S.

    Updated my siggy.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.