Norton Reply On MBAM 1.45 Issue

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by AvinashR, Apr 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Please Read The Trailing Article, this is Symantec Employee's response over current MBAM 1.45 issue :-

    Now can anybody tell me that MBAM is an Antivirus or Anti-Spyware? What i have always heard that An antivirus can run along with an antispyware ...

    But here something else is going on...

    Kindly point out your views here...

    Please see "Here" for more reference
     
  2. Pleonasm

    Pleonasm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    1,201
    FYI -- I run SpySweeper 6.1 by Webroot occasionally in an on-demand manner (i.e., not real-time “shield” protection), and have never encountered a conflict with Norton Internet Security 2010 (17.6).
     
  3. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    MBAM is (AntiMalware) so it basically covers all sorts of Malware not only Viruses or Spyware's but many things like Trojans and such as well.

    But as we always say > only 1 Real-time app at once and the rest as on-demand scanners :thumb:
     
  4. 3GUSER

    3GUSER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    812
    Nowadays we can no longer devide anvirus and antispyware . They are pretty much the same . It is all malware (malicious software).

    MBAM has its own driver(s) , has a Run key in the Windows Registry and the paid version includes kind of web protection (the IP protection modules) which is blacklist for known bad IPs.
     
  5. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
    I really do not understand what all the fuss is all about. I experimented for weeks with both MBAM and NIS 2010 running side by side with each other on access with no problem whatsoever. Yes you can run MBAM with NIS 2010 with no headache :ouch: nor cries :'( .

    Thanks.
     
  6. RubbeR DuckY

    RubbeR DuckY Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    202
    You can run Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware with a wide variety of anti-viruses (tested successfully across all systems with ESET, Kaspersky, Avira). It is a shame that Symantec claims that it is our fault. When Avast was about to release an update and noticed a conflict, they came to us and got it resolved (it was a minor issue on their end!) -- that's how the business SHOULD work. We also work with other anti-malware tools such as SUPERAntiSpyware, Webroot, and Lavasoft with no issues reported.

    Feel free to scan Symantec's forums for our product, you'll see why their attitude has shifted :).
     
  7. ALiasEX

    ALiasEX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Posts:
    240
    Maybe that employee is ill-informed about Malwarebytes and what it is/does.
     
  8. RubbeR DuckY

    RubbeR DuckY Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    202
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  10. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
    FYI --Until now on multiple machines (eight) with (MSE, Avira Premium, Eset, and Norton), I never incounter any problems related to MBAM 1.45 realtime function. Note that these are the AV versions, not the suite versions.

    But who knows what the future brings :argh:
     
  11. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
  12. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    I'd like to think that since MBAM 1.44 co-exists with NIS2010 in real-time and updates successfully that the culprit is the new update method in 1.45. FWIW I stopped using MBAM in real-time since it caused my system to freeze when the Windows 7 backup & image process started. Read more...

    http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=39747

    I have not installed 1.45 yet, and since there is an update issue I suppose I'll hold off until it is resolved.
     
  13. adik1337

    adik1337 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    199
    I have not encountered any problem when I was running norton av and mbam pro at the same time for about 1 year ... I am now running mbam pro w/ avira premium and no problems encountered. :)
     
  14. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Yeah i totally agree with you, that Symantec employees are unaware of MBAM..Even many users know that MBAM is an anti-spyware but still symantec is not ready to accept this that MBAM is not an anti-virus. They keep talking bla bla bla...

    This something ridiculous...Everybody even big companies are talking about layered protection now a days but can anybody tell me how we will put this multiple layered protection in our system? If they are not going to support anti-spywares, then how we can achieve this thing?
     
  15. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Dear Sir,

    May be you are right, may be your absolutely right...but you are doing the same thing like others do. We as a users don't know that who's fault is this or who's issue is this?

    One thing i would like to point out that during the version 1.44, MBAM is able to update itself along with NIS 2010, but soon after ver. 1.45 it stopped working with NIS 2010...So for me its MBAM problem..Not NIS 2010.

    But still i don't want to get into all these things, because its useless to point out who's mistake is this...Its better to resolve the problem rather throwing ball into others corner.
     
  16. mvario

    mvario Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Posts:
    339
    Location:
    Haddonfield, IL
     
  17. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
  18. mvario

    mvario Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Posts:
    339
    Location:
    Haddonfield, IL
    Me? No, I don't think so. I think think what the author is getting at, and I kind of agree, is that there's a blurring between the different anti's. While there's differences in how they do their thing (signatures, heuristics, HIPS, white-lists, black-lists, behavior blockers, etc., or more often some combination) it's pretty rare these days to see anything that claims to only stop one kind of threat. No matter what the product is, they usually claim some effectiveness at stopping viruses, trojans, adware, spyware, worms, malware, etc. I think there is an overall blurring of any lines between different kinds of malware, as far as what anti-malware products deal with. There is more differentiation on how they deal with them, but even there these days products tend to combine different methods.
     
  19. 3GUSER

    3GUSER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    812
    The term VIRUS is considered the general term . An Anti-VIRUS detects both viral and non-virus threats. Viral threats are considered viruses/file infectors . Non-viral are considered all trojans/adware/spyware/riskware/rootkits , etc
     
  20. Zombini

    Zombini Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    469
    MBAM needs to figure out what they change din 1.45 to cause this. It was working fine in 1.44.
     
  21. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi, folks:

    just like to share this with you :

    I run Symantec Endpoint Protection for small business edition v 12 with
    MBAM 1.45 real time on, have not encountered any update problems of MBAM. Puzzles ?
     
  22. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    The problem is not with SEP 11 or 12, problem is with Norton 2010.
     
  23. Michael York

    Michael York Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    56
    Hello,

    This is Mike from the Norton Authorized Support Team responding to those of you who have had problems updating Malwarebytes with Norton Internet Security installed. The first part of the solution is to make sure you have the latest version installed, which is version 17.6.032. If your version is lower, please manually run LiveUpdate.

    If you still have problems updating add the following exceptions to the Norton Internet Security Scan Exclusions settings.

    1. Open NIS and select "Settings"->"Scan Exclusions"->"Configure," and then under "Real Time Scan Exclusions" select the "Add" button and then add the following files to the list:

    • PF/MB/mbam.exe
    • PF/MB/mbamgui.exe
    • PF/MB/mbamservice.exe
    • WINDOWS/System32/drivers/mbam.sys
    • WINDOWS/System32/drivers/mbamswissarmy.sys

    2. Click the "Apply" and then "OK" buttons.

    You should now be able to run the update for Malwarebytes.

    Thank you,
    Mike
     
  24. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Hey Mike,

    Thank you for the update. Finally somebody came up here and cleared the things in pretty much illustrative way.

    Regards
     
  25. RubbeR DuckY

    RubbeR DuckY Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    202
    Michael,

    Thank you for the feedback.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.