Norton Removal Tool showing expired

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Biscuit, Aug 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Finding a problem today with the removal tool, so downloaded the latest version 2009.0.5.40. However it still shows as expired. This has happened on 2 computers today - system time etc is correct,=.

    Anyone else got this?
     
  2. RyanMeray

    RyanMeray Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Happened today for me as well, same version. Looks to me like Symantec set the expiration date on their removal tool and has neglected, like the awful, rancid, pathetic company they are, to update their tool on the site to a newer, non-expired version.

    #Symantec #fail
     
  3. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    HAH! Took the words out of my mouth!
     
  4. RyanMeray

    RyanMeray Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I'm not sure who I hate more: the horrific wankers who make malware, or the complete morons who make Norton and McAfee.

    Given a choice to beat the pulp out of either person, I'd have a really hard time making up my mind.
     
  5. ranjur

    ranjur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Same here guys. I've tried setting my time back and forward to try and circumvent this, and no luck. I'm watching their Removal Tool page, to see if they update the date modified. If anyone has a solution, post! I will do the same.
     
  6. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    i can not even install Nortons now :mad: :mad: :mad: :thumbd:
     
  7. ranjur

    ranjur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Ding dong the witch is dead, the witch is dead, the witch is dead!
     
  8. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    amen :'( :'( :'(
     
  9. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    No way! Took the words out of MY mouth! :)
    For all the wonderful folks who naively think that Symantec has changed its ways...
     
  10. lindhold

    lindhold Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    yea I'm getting the same thing, any help would greatly appreciated
     
  11. sarad

    sarad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Wales UK
  12. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
  13. sarad

    sarad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Wales UK
    Works for me. Have you uninstalled the old version?
     
  14. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Isn't it just a tool - it doesn't actually install anything? There's nothing to remove?
     
  15. sarad

    sarad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Wales UK
    Sorry, I was running the old version when I tried to installed the new. It told me to exit the old it before installing.
     
  16. sarad

    sarad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Wales UK
  17. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Running good as new here. Downloaded from MajorGeeks
     
  18. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Neither of the above links get a non-expired program. They are both downloading 2009.0.5.40 & are both expired.

    Just a thought, does the removal tool phone home? :doubt:
     
  19. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    It does appear to phone home. It asked my firewall for permission to connect as soon as it was extracted and started to run. (Allowed, of course.) Following the "removal" (I don't use Norton, and haven't since it was removed over two years ago) it opened the Symantec site offering info on re-installing the Norton product.
    And at no stage did anything say it was out of date, although I have seen that before. Another computer, a different version of the tool.

    I now wonder whether a previous use of the tool might have left some remnants in your registry. Do you need a tool to remove the tool? (Joking.)

    To answer an earlier question, the tool does not need uninstalling. It is a self-extracting executable, and deletion should remove it.
    It does leave a log folder behind in documents and settings. It created a small number of reg entries also. Nothing sinister.
     
  20. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    PS, interestingly, PeerGuardian appears to block the tool connecting to the Symantec site.
     
  21. smage

    smage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    377
    Maybe Symantec was so busy bashing free AVs that it forgot about its own product.
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2009
  22. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    591
    Location:
    Canada
    I had the same problem on one machine and bios date or year was incorrect.
     
  23. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Still not working yesterday afternoon for a customer's pc infected by Norton.
     
  24. 1boss1

    1boss1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Posts:
    401
    Location:
    Australia
    It's funny, the Norton Removal Tool is easier to find than the actual Norton product.

    I own a valid license for NIS09, had to reformat and do you think i could find the download. Here i am with zero protection, Norton has me doing dozens of Google queries and eventually looking for the exe to download from third party sites like FileHippo/Brothersoft to get some protection.

    Wasn't impressed.
     
  25. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.