Norton Personal Firewall problems!!!

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by claretblue, Feb 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. claretblue

claretblue Registered Member

I have been using Norton Firewall for about two years, without any real problems - until yesterday! Since then, something has been playing havoc with my PC whenever I try to use the internet.
    When I try to visit a website, the Firewall brings up warnings virtually EVERY SECOND. A typical example is;
    "Symantec Norton Internet Security Proxy Service is attempting to access the internet using one or more unrecognized modules.
    PROGRAM: c\Program Files\Norton Personal Firewall\ccPxySvc.exe
    MODULE: c\WINDOWS\system32\ntdll.dll"

I notice that some photo's on the website fail to appear as well.
    Also, when in Outlook Express, the dial-up screen fails to appear whenever I try to Send or Receive mail and some other programs won't even start!
    I have scanned for viruses with Norton and found nothing. The same with Giant anti-spyware scans.
    Anyone got any ideas what's causing thiso_O

2. CrazyM

CrazyM Firewall Expert

Did you change any settings?

Do you have component control enabled?

This could be due to the ad blocking and can be modified on a per site basis.

Which version of NIS/NPF are you using?
    NIS/NPF has fairly detailed logs, have you checked them for any indication of what may be going on?

Regards,

CrazyM

3. claretblue

Many thanks for the reply.
    1/ I did not change any settings myself. However, Windows Update added
    a few 'hotfixes';
    KB890047 KB887472 KB888113
    KB873333 KB885250 KB867282
    These are the only 'changes' I know of since the computer starting going
    haywire.

2/ Not sure what you mean by component control? (Only a beginner)

3/ Yes, I notice that the warning messages come up when the website