Norton leaves too much footprints

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by tisungho, Nov 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tisungho

    tisungho Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    148
    What do u think?
    I uninstalled a trialled NIS 2008 from Vista. CCleaner found almost 100 garbage registry entries. In addition, Norton still reports Windows Security Center that it's still up and protecting. Even I uninstalled it from Norton Removal Tool.

    What do u say?
     
  2. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    does it really matter? ....

    if the software runs good enough, with minimal system performance, does it matter?

    ie. you have a whole 12 month licence, why would you care about what it leaves on your machine?

    plus, there are removal tools for that.
     
  3. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    did you use the nortons cleaner from their web site.. that should get rid of nearly everything for you except maybe a few things for ccleaner to wipe out
     
  4. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    I have uninstalled NIS08 many times from Vista the last period while testing F-Secure Client Security, TMIS08 and McAfee Total Protection 2008 and all the times it just left the same 2 entries which ccleaner found ;) Something must have gone wrong, especially with the Security Center Reports o_O
     
  5. tisungho

    tisungho Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    148
    Yes, it does for me, especially for normal trialling people who don't have backup solutions.
    I used to trialled F-Secure. It was completely removed by its removal tool.
     
  6. tisungho

    tisungho Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    148
    I downloaded a removal tool from Here
     
  7. Arup

    Arup Guest

    They have improved, used to be 500+ entries before.
     
  8. Norton360

    Norton360 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Posts:
    71
    Some of that keys are related to the license of the product, so you can continue with it in case you reinstall the application again.
     
  9. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    Fact is, at the end of the day; there shouldn't be a need to download the uninstallation/cleaning tool... should all happen via the uninstaller.
    App settings and activation/license data, backup/quarantine files and update files leftover is alright... should have a prompt whether you want to keep the stuff... other than that, everything should be gone (which if often isnt)
     
  10. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark

    Try to install it again, then uninstall again. Pretty sure it's not Norton, but Vista, who cause the problem.

    Had the same problem with good old NOD32, testing other AV's. Things like that hardly ever happens in XP.


    Cheers
     
  11. tisungho

    tisungho Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    148
    Wowww, it's long long journey :D
     
  12. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark

    Yup sometimes it is :)
    I used the official Norton/Symantec uninstaller...It did'nt help. Then i used jv16 Powertools + RegCure, to clean, nevertheless it didn't help. Then I tried the good old install/uninstall again, and guess what?!....The problem was solved!!
    What can I say...Never had the same problem on XP, only on "The problem child" Vista...This goes for other software as well....:D

    Cheers
     
  13. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    My procedure for removing Norton is Add/Remove>>SymNRT>>CCleaner. By the time I get to CCleaner I have never seen more than 15 Symantec entries left.

    What's the big deal about Symantec having a removal tool? Doesn't Kaspersky, F-Secure, Trend Micro, and others I don't know about have removal tools? Why doesn't someone mention them? Just because it is the 'hated' Norton is the only reason why it is in the spotlight more I guess.

    I don't care what kind of software it is but most all of them leaves traces on your computer. Everytime I uninstall something I always run CCleaner which 90% of the time finds stuff left over. And I can't be the only one that has noticed that.

    The Security Center in Vista has a bug in it as far as the Repository getting screwed up and showing multiple AV's and FW's installed. I have had several times to reset the WMI which involves the following procedure:

    Click on Start>>All Programs>>Accessories
    Right click on Command Prompt and select “Run as Administrator”
    When the command window pops up you should be in your \Windows\System32 directory
    Type in the following commands:

    cd wbem
    net stop winmgmt
    rmdir /s /q repository
    net start winmgmt

    Close the command window and start Security Center.
    It will inform you that the SecCenter service is disabled so enable it.
    After a period of time in which the Repository is rebuilt it should only report the presently installed security software.

    Hopefully this will be fixed in SP1.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. ankupan
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,327
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.