Norton issue

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by wheel, Jul 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wheel

    wheel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    I'm running an older version of Norton, just started getting a message about not being able to read the boot records on all drives,, it still scans the boot records at startup.. what'll happen is when I start it, it'll scan the memory, then attempt to scan the master boot and boot records, it'll list all, 0,1,C, D, and E as unreadable, then Norton will crash, you know the illegal function box, however it'll still be running in the taskbar, any ideas on where I should look to solveo_O Thanks, Symantec site has no answers I need btw
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    you might try uninstalling and then reinstalling again. it has been known to cure some of the problems in the earlier versions of Norton.
     
  3. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    you could try installing a new version.
     
  4. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    Old versions provide you with less protection . This is especially valid for Symantec . If you wish Symantec ,then only 2006 version .

    Remove your old version by going to Control Panel-> Add/Remove programs
    First remove Norton , then remove Symantec stuff and finish with Live Update. Reboot and manually delete the folders Symantec , Norton , Live Update from C:\Program files

    Use Symantec removal tools to completely get rid of this old version as shown here :
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=799580&postcount=6

    Download and install new version . At least 2005 or 2006.

    If you wish better protection and security ,the one would do great jobhere :D
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 28, 2006
  5. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    and eventually if you have enough money you could get the best protection by installing Symantec Corporate Edition. ;)
     
  6. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    If you decide on a different av the one HiTech_boy suggested is alright but there are more very good ones that you can try. Trial a few until you find one you like.
     
  7. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    In order to have Symantec Corporate , you need to get at least 10 licenses which is impossible for home user because home users don't have 10 PCs :)


    :thumb::thumb: :thumb:
     
  8. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    yes, and you can visit av-comparatives.org or virusbtn.com to see some reliable comparative antivirus tests. :)
    But NOD32, Kaspersky and Avira (if u like a free AV) are the best choice. :)
     
  9. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    If this is an old version of Norton, then you would probably be better of with a free solution like Avast or AntiVir.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.