Norton IS 2007 Trialware

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Simon6776, Jan 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Simon6776

    Simon6776 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Posts:
    282
    After my experiment with FSIS, I thought I would try NIS 2007, as several people have recommended it, so I downloaded the Trialware version from the Symantec website, but once installed, it says that the trial period has expired, so it's useless. I haven't installed NIS 2007 before, and the last Norton product I used on my PC was NIS 2005, which I removed with the Norton Removal Tool. I have also removed NIS 2007 with the NRT, and reinstalled, but still it says the trial period has expired. I don't want to purchase the thing, and then find that it slows down my system - I just want to compare it to KIS 6.0, but will buy it if I like it. Any ideas as to a way round this, would be appreciated.

    Simon.
     
  2. tsilo

    tsilo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    376
    Download and install Norton Internet Security 2007 , it has 30 day to try, so you can compare it with other products.
    With Norton trialware products is always same story, but I don't know why...
     
  3. Simon6776

    Simon6776 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Posts:
    282
    Oh right, so it will allow me to install it without a product key, yes? Thanks, that's great. How stupid though, that the official Trialware is for 15 days, and doesn't work, but by downloading the 'real thing', you get 30 days anyway!
     
  4. tsilo

    tsilo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    376
    I don't remember installing NIS 2007 you have 15 or 30 day to tray, but I really know that you have minimum 15 day.
     
  5. Simon6776

    Simon6776 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Posts:
    282
    It doesn't seem to want me to download the package without buying it (unless I'm being a muppet), but I've now found a different Trialware package from a link that wasn't working last night, so I'm just downloading that to try out.

    Just a thought, but if I bought an OEM, which are available from Ebuyer, and used the product key to load it, if I subsequently uninstalled without activating it, would the product key still be valid for use by someone else?

    Don't get the wrong idea, I'm not trying a fiddle! I just don't want to be lumbered with it if it doesn't work well on my machine. I had no problem with other Norton products, up to NIS 2005, but owing to the dreadful reviews of NIS 2006, I switched to Kaspersky, which is great, but I'd still like to see what NIS 2007 is like.
     
  6. donsan

    donsan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Posts:
    149
    Location:
    grand prairie tx
    I have been running Kis for a long time and still have a license for Kis and Nod. I decided to try Nis 2007 just see how it performs and i have to say this is a great product compared to the 2004 day's. My computer is running a lot faster with Nis 07 and running less cpu then Kav i think you will like it.Thats just my two cents worth.
     
  7. ejr

    ejr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Posts:
    538
    If the program has the name "Norton" in it, I don't buy it. Norton products seem to to care less about resource usage. In general, I feel that you can find products as good as Norton and often better that use significantly less resources.
     
  8. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
  9. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    norton 2007 is light...
     
  10. ejr

    ejr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Posts:
    538
    Oh...I had no idea. I gave up on Norton products years ago. Maybe they have finally learned!

    Still, my time spent in this forum has taught me that you can get much better protection by installing secuirty apps separately (firewall, AV, antispyware). But if you are going to consider an all in one product, why not try it if it has really toned down the resource usage?

    From their website:


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    Symantec.com > Home & Home Office > Products > PC Security > Internet Security
    Norton Internet Security 2007 System Requirements Norton Internet Security 2007Platforms: Windows® XP/Windows VISTA™*Windows® XP/Windows VISTA™300MHz or higher processor
    256MB of RAM
    350MB of available hard disk space
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2007
  11. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    the 2007 version is a big step for norton, its probably the lightest they have ever done, and i think it looks the best aswell.

    norton seem to make massive changes between years, im already wondering how good, or bad the 2008 version will be. *lol* :rolleyes:
     
  12. Simon6776

    Simon6776 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Posts:
    282
  13. Crappopotamus

    Crappopotamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Posts:
    157
    Location:
    Illinois
  14. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    I actually dont know o_O I get Vista tomorrow and I'll check it out then.
     
  15. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Yes . Norton counts the days of the trail . You have had Norton before which has expired and you are not allowed to try any new versions any more ... until you formal the hard disk
     
  16. Simon6776

    Simon6776 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Posts:
    282
    Yes, I thought that might be the case. But surely it's just a matter of finding a little file or registry entry, and deleting it, to make Norton 'forget' that it's been used before? :doubt:
     
  17. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    If it was that easy all people would use trial versions instead of full versions
     
  18. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    I reload my comp every second month or so from an image, som nis07 3 month trial is fine for me ;)
     
  19. toejabber

    toejabber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    I used McAfee (registered versions) for years. Then I switched to Norton Internet Security, which I liked mo better. Been running 2006, a little sluggish.
    Just subscribed for another year of updates online. Now why did I do thato_Oo_O It's now $53.50 after tax.
    Norton Internet Security 2007 is only $59.00 + tax at WalMart.

    On my other machine, I am now going to switch to NOD32 AntiVirus (retail), which beats all the competition hands down!
    And I am going to use the Comodo firewall (free) with lifetime updates, which does not LEAK! PERIOD!!! and in my opinion, is the best of the FREE firewalls!

    I'll let you know the results.*puppy*
     
  20. yankinNcrankin

    yankinNcrankin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    406
    Tried it and man I dont like how it sinks itself into my system, it goes in too deep. Heh, it even deleted some of my tools I use for map editing games thinking it was bad or something, thank god I had back ups, bye bye NIS :D
     
  21. Simon6776

    Simon6776 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Posts:
    282
    I installed NIS 2007 earlier today, and after a two hour scan (which came up clean), general navigation around my PC seems to be slightly slower than with KIS, but nothing I couldn't get used to, however, boot up time is HORRENDOUSLY compromised. My PC used to start up in just over 1 minute, that is to load all the start up programs, and launch Mail Washer, but with NIS on board, it's taking over 4½ minutes to get going! This, I don't think I will be able to live with for long, so it looks like Norton's reign over my computer will be short lived, which is a bloody shame, as it's a waste of a licence. Still, I had to try it, and I'll try to give it a week or so to bed in, to see if boot up times improve.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. ankupan
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,332
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.