Norton Internet Security 2013 and Microsoft Office 2010 issues?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by acr1965, Nov 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

acr1965 Registered Member

I have a subscription to NIS 2013 and am trying to decide whether to put it on 3 computers on a network. The computers all run Windows 7, 64 bit and are wifi connected to a printer as well as connected in the network to each other. Before doing this I would like to know if anyone has come across any conflicts or bugs with NIS 2013 and Office 2010. I have heard rumors that there are problems but nothing I can find that is confirmed. I'd rather know ahead of time than wasting the man hours of trying to fix things later. Thanks.

2. itman

itman Registered Member

Go to the Norton forum and make your own evaluation on whether to install it. Many of the fanboys over there are recommending stick with NIS 2012 untill all the kninks worked out of the 2013 versions.

Appears there are issues primarily with AMD processors but also issues with Intel ones; older versions it appears.

If you decide to install 2013, make a drive/parttion image of your existing setup so you can painlessly restore if need be.

Uninstall your existing Norton AV/NIS version via add/remove programs. It will ask you to reboot to complete uninstall.

Download the Norton removal/clean tool. Warning! Be aware this tool will uninstall/remove/clean traces for all Norton products. If you use anything besides NAV or NIS make sure you have software/media to reinstall. Run removal/clean tool. It will also ask you to reboot if I recollect.