Norton Internet Security 2009

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by swisscoms, Sep 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    Hello everyone, I just installed a registered version of Norton Internet Security 2009. I wanted to try and see if there was some kind of website protection whilst surfing. Sure enough, it really works. Below is the block screen with info.

    Web block2.jpg

    I hope this helps anyone who had any concerns. :cool:
     
  2. Pseudo

    Pseudo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Posts:
    193
    Thanks for testing. :thumb:
     
  3. shanep

    shanep AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Posts:
    54
    Thats the Intrusion Prevention Engine in action.
     
  4. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    You are welcome Pseudo. Thanks for the information Shane - it is a reassuring sight to see this window. :)
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    dont forget you can also install web safe.
    there is a link in a tab when you first open internet explorer 7.
    it scans search results on google and blocks dangerous websites.
     
  6. hex_614

    hex_614 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    more power to norton products
     
  7. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    Because Symantec claims that is mainly made for the USA market this question, because I'm in Holland...:

    Is it similar to McAfee SiteAdvisor?
     
  8. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    its similar to siteadvisor and linkscanner.
     
  9. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    ok, I keep that one then :) Thanks.
     
  10. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    The ratings from SafeWeb are both from norton's own testings and from user ratings. Be careful with user ratings. Some people just don't know what they're talking about.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2008
  11. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    uh.. I use SiteAdvisor. And that one is quiet different!
     
  12. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
  13. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    I came across this on CNET this morning, after they gave NIS 2009 a rather lukewarm rating of 3.5 stars:

    Editors' note: On September 11, 2008, we changed the rating of this product after ranking it against other 2009 Internet security suites and after completing additional customer service testing.

    They have now raised it to four out of 5 stars, and that places the product in the Excellent category. :cool:
     
  14. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    Thank you for this great suggestion. I must be going blind in my old age, or just senile, but I can't find the link to this web safe addon. o_O
     
  15. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    woops its called safeweb
    can only find the beta links on google search but when you install norton internet security 2009 and open internet explorer for the first time it opens a second tab. click on the tab and there is a link to download safeweb on that page.
    you will need to reboot to complete the install.
    i can always install it later and give you the link if you cannot find it.
    just pm me if you want me to do that.
     
  16. shanep

    shanep AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Posts:
    54
    Its http://safeweb.norton.com/

    Shane.
     
  17. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    it is truly amazing, but still not revolutionary.

    lacks the features of some, yet it would be my choice for a suite at the moment.

    you never know, if a cheap enough licence pops up... id use it for sure.
     
  18. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    LOL a 2005 Lic worked on it I got in a bargain bin for $2
     
  19. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    Many thanks for your kind offer! I think Shane has posted the link. :D
     
  20. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
  21. Atomic_Ed

    Atomic_Ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    Lol! $2.00 thats really funny.
     
  22. rhuds13

    rhuds13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Nice review here: http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2330018,00.asp. May give another go with this one just to see how it works on my system. And they will be making changes if problems do occur and are reported so it will be more compatible with systems that may have small problems now. From what I can see the people here who have really tried it are happy.
     
  23. virtumonde

    virtumonde Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    501
  24. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,876
    Location:
    New England
    Posts that were nudging towards product comparisons and "XYZ is better" have been removed. We're not going to go down the same road in this thread as the one that was removed to time-out. In fact, that thread won't be reopened since we have this one available now.
     
  25. rhuds13

    rhuds13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Installed the 15 day trial. Looks good. I was checking settings and under Smart Firewall, Advanced Events Monitoring is grayed out and can't access it. Is this just for the trial version? tks.
    Never mind found it in help. Just getting old and did not see at first.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2008
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.