Norton Internet Security 2009

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Zombini, Oct 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zombini

    Zombini Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    469
    Yeah.. that sure did get your attention. But I thought its about time for those of you that have used NIS2008 (which most would agree is a great product) to comment on what we would like to see in NIS2009.

    I'll go first:
    - game mode
    - more def updates
     
  2. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Wow man you are fast
     
  3. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    hmm :blink:

    i aint sure about 2009, but i think 2015 will be a fantastic year for Norton Internet Security. :rolleyes:
     
  4. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Only thing on my wishlist is a log on the updates so you will know what modules were updated during Auto LiveUpdate. I did submit this thru their feedback link.
     
  5. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    I'd like multiple updates through that day rather than one & I'd like to see them use a different approach to the firewall. I'm use to Look n stop & I'm still not comfortable with the so called unseen firewall. However I am behind a router<g>, so I don't need a great firewall but I'd like more control on what's going out...
     
  6. Zombini

    Zombini Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    469
    I believe NIS 2008 has that control. All you have to do is change the firewall setting to "Ask me".
     
  7. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    You can also turn on Program Launch and Component Monitoring. Then you will be in popup heaven, lol.
     
  8. tiagozt

    tiagozt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Posts:
    331
    Well... We are in 2007 now... Maybe in 2020 Norton becames a decent AV with good detection... :|
    This software (I don't call antivirus) don't detect any file that I scan... Nothing!
    I get malwares from Internet and receive by mail and rarely Symantec/Norton detects as malware (1:20)... I don't understand and I don't trust...
    I don't believe in tests with Norton in TOP too...
    I believe that it's only a good marketing... No other justificatiion...
    I'm sorry but I don't believe that all the samples I test with Norton are coincidences... I don't believe that its specific in Brazil because I get/receive international malwares.
    For me it's more a virus than an antivirus. Ridiculous.
     
  9. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    it already is, and has been for a while now.

    if it says the files are clean, 99% of the time.. its correct most likely.

    if you are in doubt, upload the files to virustotal.com and check them with other vendors.
     
  10. tiagozt

    tiagozt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Posts:
    331
    CSJ, 100% of what I named "sample" are infected files detected by other AVs. Always false negative from Norton...
     
  11. tsilo

    tsilo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    376
    I think NIS 2008 is a great product, I only want to see in next version mannually quarantin scanning and restore to.. option in quarantine.
    Norton 2008 is fast, with very good detection and it uses nothing in system resources. Time when Norton was heavy and uneffective software is far from us.. If we speak about internet securitys I think NIS 2008 is best in the world! :cool:
     
  12. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    tiagozt, you tried to sell this before and once again there is no interested buyer here. I believe in what I see and experience. For the past 8 months my life has been virus/malware free since installing Norton a few weeks after getting Vista. Most of the prevention is credited to Norton with a few credited to Vista (IE Protected Mode--no UAC save as of yet). I have delved into the underside of the internet several times testing NIS and Vista and have always came away unscathed. I have found a "haven" of stored viruses, trojans, and other nasties to use for testing and so far Norton has detected and blocked installation of every one.

    My system has been verified clean by several online virus scanners and malware scanners plus a few AV's that I installed during the time between '07 and '08 when I was waiting on NIS '08 to come out (including the antivirus you now use).

    I don't know what version you used but even during the Bloat Era Norton always had high detection of viruses. It was only in '07-up that malware detection was improved (and also improved in the corporate version as well).

    Also I am not as haphazard in dealing with emails. I have always used MS's email programs (OE, Outlook, Windows Mail) and never been infected once in the 12 years I have been on the net. I do not click on strange emails and I have the preview pane turned off as previewing them are enough to set the virus/malware off. I don't get as many with my new ISP though but the ones that get through it's defense are immediately placed in the trash. Remember that the most important security tool you have is your brain. Use it well.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2007
  13. tiagozt

    tiagozt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Posts:
    331
    I don't believe and that's all. No one can prove to me that Norton, Avast, MCafee and other are good AVs with good detection... because it's not real.
     
  14. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    I want Symantec to make a better firewall. Its horrible configuring it for p2p (maybe gaming too).
     
  15. toxical2004

    toxical2004 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    31
    It wouldn't be bad if they made their program to auto-update versions, as well as other stuff (so that ppl don't bother to go download the latest version separately, and just be able to get it through simple updating of modules, eg like avira or nod32). Also, i think their Live update feature is a bit clunky, the whole idea of a separate application to use for updating, it should be integrated as a part of the main program.
     
  16. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    i prefer 2007 over 2008, and here is why.

    i believe 2008 has added some things that feel like they were only added, to make a new version, its the same story all over again with symantec.

    Even though 2008 is still light, i believe the differences between 2007 and 2008 are not needed, and by a majority, probably not wanted.

    if 2009 continues this tradition, it will slowly become more bloated.

    to me, 2007 was a 'perfect balance', and the best software they have created to-date, so i would like 2009 to become more so like that :)
     
  17. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    tiagozt, we will just have to agree to disagree then :)

    Chris, I don't really see this added "bloat" you mentioned

    NIS 2007--AV/AS/FW/Antiphishing
    Add-ons--Parental/AntiSpam/Confidential/Ad Blocker

    NIS 2008--AV/AS/FW/Antiphishing/Identity Safe
    Add-ons--Parental/AntiSpam/Confidential

    All they did was trade Ad Blocker for Identity Safe so it evens out. Since Ad Blockers are a dime a dozen (or ten pence a dozen in your terms :D ), I would have more use for ID Safe.

    EDIT: I forgot about Network Map but only because I don't use it. It would be the only "extra" in '08. Other suites are adding this capability as well, i.e. OneCare, Trend Micro.

    I think that Symantec has learned it's lesson on bloatness:

    [from this weblog Tackling Performance Impact with NIS '08 and NAV '08 ]
    This is the first time I have ever seen Symantec admit the bloatness of it's past products.
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2007
  18. Zombini

    Zombini Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    469
    Not sure why you would "manually" want to scan quarantine. Quarantine is automatically rescanned whenever new AV definitions are downloaded on the system. So even if something was accidentally put in there due to an FP, it will be restored automatically.
     
  19. Zombini

    Zombini Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    469
    Which version of "Symantec" :). 07 and 08 have the "super silent" firewall. You shouldn't have such a problem
     
  20. Zombini

    Zombini Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    469
    I actually like the fact that Symantec is added the form-filling, password management and such features that I can actually "use" to make by browsing easier. The regular security features are a safety net that dont make my life any easier. Anyway I like what they added to 2008.

    My bet is that whatever they added to 2008 will be trimmed down even further in 2009.
     
  21. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    It was actually Symantec Client Security.The firewall is mostly the same isnt it?

    I allowed eMule but got lowid and when I saw the thread on configuring NIS to allow eMule, I gave up. It was too much hassle.
     
  22. Cloudcroft

    Cloudcroft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Posts:
    433
    Location:
    The Hill Country of Texas
    I agree, C.S.J. I trialed 2008, and prefer to stay with 2007. I bought a copy of 2008, and hopefully I can use the 2008 key in 2007 when my subscription runs out in two weeks.
     
  23. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758

    use Kasperskys' AV engine ;)
     
  24. Abeltje

    Abeltje Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Posts:
    156
    Location:
    Netherlands
    No it's not the same. Client Security (the new one at least) is based on Sygate firewall. NIS has different firewall and it's more a allow / block it issue than configuring ports etc. In default mode it will even grant emule access by default, you should not even notice a firewall is there and get instant high id.
     
  25. tisungho

    tisungho Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    148
    Can I upgrade from NIS 2007 to NIS 2008 with the 2007's subscription?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.