Norton DNS

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Frank the Perv, Sep 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Frank the Perv

    Frank the Perv Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    882
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    So Malwarebytes periodically stops potentially bad websites from opening... like this one:

    http://www.tvsubtitles.net/tvshow-55-1.html

    (Don't know if this site is really dangerous or not - but that's not the point)

    When MBAM blocks it, the MBAM notification pops up in the lower right corner of the monitor.

    I periodically get websites blocked by MBAM.

    Why do I never (and I mean never) get anything blocked by Norton DNS?

    Can anybody verify that Norton DNS is actively adding sites to its blacklist?

    Does this thing really do anything?

    Is anybody in there?

    Just wonder'in...
     
  2. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    Even though the following is not a dangerous site, (it offers malware "test" downloads much like Eicar does), Norton blocks the whole site though Malwarebytes doesn't:

    http://www.spycar.org/Spycar.html

    So it does at least block some things though I rarely come across those sites.
     
  3. LODBROK

    LODBROK Guest

    FYI
    Blocked by TrafficLight extension (in Firefox).
    Not blocked by DynDNS Internet Guide.
     
  4. Frank the Perv

    Frank the Perv Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    882
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Thanks Blues.

    Pretty sure that's the first time I've ever seen that screen -- that is the screen that shows that Norton DNS blocked something. And I've had Norton DNS for half a year. And I'm an unsafe surfer.

    Does Comodo still have a DNS program?

    I guess it's time to look around a little..
     
  5. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    617
    Location:
    Wembley, London
  6. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Actually, it is very much the point.

    Norton DNS will block domain names. MBAM will block IPs, that I know of. Many domain names share the same IP. If MBAM blocks one IP linked to a bad domain, any good domain hosted on the same IP will be blocked as well.

    That's the problem with blocking IPs - you block the bad and good.

    You can test Norton DNS by checking domains rated red in safeweb.norton.com

    The domain you pointed translates to the IP 93.170.48.67 http://www.ipvoid.com/scan/93.170.48.67

    It's currently flagged by one list.

    http://www.robtex.com/ip/93.170.48.67.html

    That IP is shared by other hosts.

    Those hosts may or may not be related to each other. I really didn't bother to look. But, I'm just trying to show that if one of those hosts is malicious and MBAM blocks by IP, then it will for sure block any other good domain that shares that same IP.
     
  7. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    That's because the amounts of MBAM false positives in that area is staggering.
     
  8. zakazak

    zakazak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    523
    testing around today with 22x 0-day malware links at different security setups.

    With...
    Avast Free AV (Webshield)
    MBAM Pro
    CIS Firewall & D+
    .. NortonDNS still blocked some links that the others didn't.
     
  9. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    I've got similar results before, except with TrafficLight (and sometimes WOT) added in the mix.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Overkill
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    359
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.