Norton AV deleted OA avgate.exe said its a ws.trojan..?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by country2, Sep 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Just turned computer on and Norton AV said a trojan was found and deleted...but it was Online Armour avgate.exe file!

    Anyone else seen this happen? should I uninstall and reinstall OA (free) and see if it happens again and report it to Norton? thankso_O

    lol...looks like I need to type slower and proof read what I type

    Full Path: c:\program files (x86)\online armor\a2\avgate.exe
    ____________________________
    ____________________________
    On computers as of Not Available
    Last Used 9/30/2011 at 7:07:13 PM
    Startup Item No
    Launched No
    ____________________________
    ____________________________
    Unknown
    Number of users in the Norton Community that have used this file: Unknown
    ____________________________
    Unknown
    This file release is currently not known.
    ____________________________
    High
    This file risk is high.
    ____________________________
    Threat Details
    Threat type: Heuristic Virus. Detection of a threat based on malware heuristics.
    ____________________________

    ____________________________
    File Actions
    File: c:\program files (x86)\online armor\a2\avgate.exe
    Removed
    ____________________________
    File Thumbprint - SHA:
    fdafdda1caaf8bdef54877dda0c74380f10a8f9b714a5dafa6d3ca67fa18a390
    ____________________________
    File Thumbprint - MD5:
    4a92a49b72cb7ed6347c437f707d5051
    ____________________________
     
  2. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Re: Norton AV deleted OA avgate.exe sais tis a ws.trojan..?

    Geeze Another false positive,whats that numer 58.:p I know I know thats a cheap shot but couldn't resist after august OD comparatives.I would try OA again see what Norton has to say.Then report if your sure its a FP which probably is.
     
  3. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Re: Norton AV deleted OA avgate.exe sais tis a ws.trojan..?


    But these 2 have been running together for months ...why now?
     
  4. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Re: Norton AV deleted OA avgate.exe sais tis a ws.trojan..?

    o_O Because it's Friday?:doubt:
     
  5. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Did it happen after a recent update.
     
  6. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Re: Norton AV deleted OA avgate.exe sais tis a ws.trojan..?

    LMAO,good one buddy:D
     
  7. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Prior to the one it just did 3 minutes ago I really don't know. Wish there was a way to pull up a history txt file and see but unable to locate one. I'll just keep a eye on it and reload OA and see if it tries it again...

    Strange is that google did not turn up other users having this issue...
     
  8. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    restore it from quarantine?
     
  9. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Can't you exclude the file from a scan?
     
  10. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    It seems that the Norton Intrusion prevention engine had updated just prior to this happening so that may be that cause?

    Supposedly the file is going to be sent to Norton for evaluation but so far 3 messages in log saying it could not be sent.

    I don't know if I can exclude this file from scan..mean time I'll just have it ask me on everything and see what happens
     
  11. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    if you're using 2012 product if you restore from quarantine it is normally excluded as well(the option is restore and exclude)
     
  12. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    it got deleted not quarantine....so no restore from it.
     
  13. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    If the take action is delete automatic thats not good at all and essentially could delete something vital to the OS.I thought the settings was quarantine by default no
     
  14. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169

    Just noticed that by default high risk in the sonar protection is set to Remove Risks Automatically - High-certainly only also remove risks while I'm away - always. So these maybe why it got deleted ?...

    I changes the settings to quarantine and re-installed OA again this time it found the sile and said it was a trojan and quarantined it. I told it to restore it and exclude this file.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2011
  15. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,030
    Location:
    United States
    Re: Norton AV deleted OA avgate.exe sais tis a ws.trojan..?

    I guess the 30th is the day of bad luck for security solutions? o_O
     
  16. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Well now this morning Norton says online armor OACAT.EXE is a trojan. AND REMOVED IT (DELETED) o_O
     
  17. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    I really enjoyed using Nis but the last few months the FP's have been utterly crazy, worse than anything I have ever used, they really need to sort things out, on default settings I don't think I would have any programs left, except Nis ofc, it's never flagged itself up... yet!:ouch:
     
  18. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Thats crazy,Norton need to do something if they want to keep there customers.To many false positives is unexceptable and just deleting them is even worse,It's like having a virus destroying things.
     
  19. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,050
    Location:
    USA
    I couldn't agree more and have removed it more than once because of it. Unfortunately I come back to it when the product I replace it with has an issue. o_O Linux is getting very tempting at this point.
     
  20. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,127
    Location:
    USA
    Why not exclude the whole program as a precaution? It's not uncommon that security software looks like malware to other security software. Mutual exclusion is a good idea to prevent interference.
     
  21. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I've posted numerous times in the "Norton Community" re this absolute PITA <default delete> setting based on Symantec's classifications.

    Symantec take the "extreme Nanny Safe" settings as the baseline.

    No matter what sections of NIS one might reset to more acceptable interrogation levels there always seems to be something else that wipes the file.

    Seems like updates or reboots might also reset the baseline.

    Can be Very difficult to drill down in NIS to rescue files.

    NoOne at Symantec wants to accept how often they get it WRONG.

    No one at Symantec seems willing to address a more granular and easy to access "Ignore and Restore" setting.
     
  22. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Absolutley spot on but at the rate norton is going there is going to be lots of exclusions.How norton bounced back to improve its resource usage was a hudge improvement for its fans and customers they lost for a chance to win back.I like norton and I honestly want to see them do well but they need a fix soon.cheers
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2011
  23. qakbot

    qakbot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Posts:
    380
  24. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169

    I went thru same issue with windows and started using linux for about 2 years but due to lack of specialty programs I needed eventually went back to windows.
     
  25. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    I hope that they do fix the fp's soon but strange thing is I'm the only person I've seen have this issue....I hope I'm not the only one running W7 64 bit with Norton AV 2012 and OA free firewall.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.