Norton 360

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by zx81, Nov 12, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zx81

    zx81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Posts:
    58
    I have used Kaspersky primarly for years, but wanted a change (the interface controls were bugging me)

    After review here and elsewhere, I opted for Norton360

    I am 100 days in now and very happy, no problems, negatives, just working away with no slow downs
     
  2. rinem

    rinem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    156
    Im using NIS and i also dont notice any slowdowns. Its like having nothing installed. Its impressive how they achieve this. Most important for me is the web browsing slowdown and there is none! Also no "lags" in starting apps. I turned off Performance Monitoring, dont need that.
     
  3. dansorin

    dansorin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    233
    Location:
    EU
    yes, but it's detection rating is among the lowest according to av-comparatives latest file detection test: only 89.7%. even MSE scored higher, i never expected such poor results.
     
  4. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    Wish I could say the same. Running NIS on 1 machine and have to disable the antispam to be able to send emails and I am getting 2 taskbar tray icons. I am not concerned about the results of any particular test as it seems fine to me. It hasn't missed anything for me yet. I just wish they would stop breaking things. I did not have either of these problems a couple of weeks ago.
     
  5. silverfox99

    silverfox99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    204
  6. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    its because of way they test also Norton and Av-comparatives are in dispute so it seems site owner is doing his best to show Norton in a bad light,take it with a pinch of salt,He avoids putting Norton in real world tests as he knows it would do well and backfire on him
     
  7. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    no issues at all for me on any of six pcs,are you sure your install hasn't got corrupted in some way?def no conflicts on board?
     
  8. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    There is a thread for each problem over at the Norton forums so I am not alone in these problems.
     
  9. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    I would agree Norton is excellent in dynamic tests, but it has always scored average without an Internet connection. This issue has been long debated, with Symantec assuming that computers nowadays are always connected, and this is not always the case in my experience.

    95 % of all malware detected by my computers (more than 100 detections with Eset and Avira) was always without an Internet connection when plugging in third party USB flash drives. I also agree that AV Comparatives is not giving Norton a fair run, but the fact remains that on demand scans without an Internet connection are also very important.
     
  10. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Do the Norton Security Suites (360 and Internet Security) allow a user to decide what gets deleted and what doesn't? I wouldn't mind giving Norton another test run but like to tweak the settings as well as have the final say so.
     
  11. IBK

    IBK AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,819
    Location:
    Innsbruck (Austria)
    File Detection tests are done with active internet connection (i.e. with cloud).
     
  12. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    Then you've got me stumped, why would Norton have excellent results with dynamic tests and not with file detection?
     
  13. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    Because they have more than one layer of protection. Even with an Internet connection, just scanning a folder doesn't trigger anything but the signature-based Autoprotect.
     
  14. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Last time I tried Norton, I ended up getting infected with adware that was nearly impossible to remove. Norton in my limited experience lacks a proper URL blocker. I would highly suggest you use it with K9 web protection.
     
  15. Inside Out

    Inside Out Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Posts:
    421
    Location:
    Pangea
    Protection is about more than just signatures, so an AV can block malware even if it lacks the signatures to detect it, or it can have it and still let it in if the web filter is designed differently from its on-demand/access scan engine. Testers sometimes have to shut down the web filter to access a malware site, but their AV not blocking it doesn't mean it can't find anything during or after the download, and it doesn't follow if it's blocking a site, it must be able to detect the malware on it if the nasty is already on the computer either.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2013
  16. javagreen

    javagreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Posts:
    96
    Norton, in my experience, lacks a whole lot more than that. It's severely inadequate, the OP has made a huge mistake, IMO.
     
  17. NortonSupport

    NortonSupport Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    12
    Hello,

    Sorry for the trouble. I am Vineeth and I am from the Norton Support team.

    The problems which you have mentioned are fixed in the latest updates for your Norton product. Can you please run LiveUpdate until no more updates, restart the computer and see if that fixes the problem?

    Thanks!

    Vineeth
    Norton Social Support
     
  18. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    The problem with Antispam still exists. Can't send mail from Outlook with it enabled,
     
  19. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Though I must admit Symantec has people reading nearly all comments on their products....:D :eek:
     
  20. NortonSupport

    NortonSupport Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    12
    Thank you!

    Can you please open the Norton product, and then click Support > About and let me know the version number listed there?

    Thanks!

    Vineeth
    Norton Support
     
  21. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    Hello Vineeth. It's nice to see a Norton support rep here. I'm hoping you can answer a couple of questions that I asked on the Norton forum some time ago and never got answers for.

    First, why is boot time protection OFF by default now, and why are there Normal and Aggressive settings?

    Second, can Norton now block/remove rootkits or is it necessary to use the boot disk and/or Norton Power Eraser?
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2013
  22. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    Sorry, I cannot. It should have been current as of yesterday. I ran liveupdate until there were no more updates and rebooted before testing it. I have uninstalled it due to the multiple issues I was having with it. :(
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.