Norton 360 question

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by gery, Aug 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    just today i reinstalled Norton 360 and did a full update. After the update finished it required restart which i did. When the computer restarted and i began browsing the internet i saw at the top of FF a certain ask.com web something installed. I did disable that thing but i am not sure if that is really off or is still working in background. Can someone give some suggestion please?
     
  2. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    Probably the Ask.com toolbar button.
    Did you notice an opt-in/out for the toolbar during the install process ?

    You can kill the process in Administrative Tools/Services, and I would also look for and delete any registry keys associated with it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2009
  3. dell boy

    dell boy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    240
    Location:
    uk, england
    if you have winpatrol or something similar you can list the BHO's and remove, ask isnt really a bad toolbar so shouldnt be too difficult to remove it.
     
  4. Dark_Hanzo

    Dark_Hanzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    172
    Location:
    Canada
    I am afraid that there's no opt-out for the toolbar. Don't take my word for this but I think that the toolbar is disabled by default.
     
  5. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,123
    Location:
    USA
    .
    I don't know that it's doing anything in the background when you're not using the search window. You can keep the toolbar active and simply hide the window. You can also check to make sure Ask.com is not listed in IE's Search Provider list. There was a lot of protest about this when Symantec first implemented it. Their response was to make it possible to hide the window. LOL :rolleyes:
     
  6. Michael York

    Michael York Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    56

    Hi gery,

    This is Mike from the Norton Authorized Support Team.

    It sounds like the updates to Norton 360 version 3 did not get applied correctly. The Ask.com toolbar was removed in a later LiveUpdate.

    However, Norton Safe Search still utilizes some of the Ask technologies to rank websites. Please manually run LiveUpdate in Norton 360 version 3, possibly multiple times, until it informs you that no more updates are available. The version number should read "3.5.2.10".

    Let me know if it still shows up after you run LiveUpdate, and be sure to reboot after the updates are installed.

    Thank you,
    Mike
     
  7. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    Something really strange happened recently s i uninstalled norton at least for a while
    Problem 1- running update causes CPU to 100% and after a while the laptop would shut down
    problem 2- the Norton safe toolbar thing never showed up at all
    I went to the hotfix thing at their site and it said it is to be run manually so i downloaded and ran it but it said that the thing could not be installed
    I am stuck now
    Tanks for replying anyway
    will try it later
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.