Norton 360 2.0 released

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by midway40, Mar 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
  2. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    See that you're back with good old NIS, Mitch :)
     
  3. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    Mitch how does it run for you?
     
  4. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    ^^^^same question from me..
     
  5. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
  6. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    So far the USB problems I had before using NIS has not reappeared. This could be due to SP1 RTM or maybe Symantec fixed it during my absence.

    But I have noticed a definite hit in gaming compared to OneCare and McAfee even with AutoProtect off. Plus I miss the printer sharing feature in OC. Normally to print from my laptop I have to log into my desktop, right click on the printer, and select “Connect to…”. OC somehow sets it up automatically where all I do is select ‘print’. I think it has something to do with a new entry in my network, midway-oc.

    Right now I am kind of wavering back and forth.
     
  7. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    I'm glad there are no issues this time around & Norton is always fixing issues as they go through the year, hope it keeps working for you...
     
  8. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    422
    How are the resource usage compared to NIS 2008 or Norton 360 1.0?

    And have they fixed the website hang? It was not fixed in the beta, but I haven't tested the final, so I can't say.
     
  9. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    It "hangs" in NIS 2008 and 360 2.0 at least on several of my machines. There is enough of a delay to make you want to use another AV.
     
  10. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Have never had any delay on any machines with 08 or 360 im managing, so cant comment on that ;)
     
  11. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    Very fast for me.
     
  12. mata7

    mata7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    635
    Location:
    Mississauga, Canada
    fast for me 2, i look really nice and low resource, love the gui
     
  13. papubhai

    papubhai Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    norton internet security and norton 360 v 2 are very resource friendly

    tell me u guys why my fully upgdated and configured nod32 misses so mnay trojans really missing so mnay which kaspersky and norton cleaned easily

    i m nod32 lover and i m being disappointed
     
  14. papubhai

    papubhai Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    do post the answer to nod32 problem
     
  15. solcroft

    solcroft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,639
    Do you want to see the hordes of trojans that Symantec/Kaspersky misses and NOD32 catches?

    Well, I guess it's no use asking, since forum policy around these parts means I can't show you. Drat.

    But hey, if you find that Symantec/Kaspersky catch more threats for you, by all means go ahead. I've actually just found out I can buy Norton 360 for slightly more than the price of a good steak, and KAV 7.0 for less than a burger (!!), so I'm now a proud owner of those two as well. Can't wait for my internet to be up and running so I can play with them...
     
  16. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    LOL :D :cool: :argh: :thumb:
     
  17. Zombini

    Zombini Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    469
    Yes Solcroft. I am still waiting for the results of your tests with drive-bys with NIS2008. See your PM inbox if you dont remember me.
     
  18. solcroft

    solcroft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,639
    See your PM inbox if you haven't seen my reply.

    According to you NIS falls flat on detecting exploits unless the system is vulnerable to it, and I'm having problems installing NIS on my unpatched vulnerable machine. Any suggestions?
     
  19. solcroft

    solcroft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,639
    If it's trojans you want, btw, I can certainly provide them by the truckload. Whenever you're ready.
     
  20. Zombini

    Zombini Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    469
    Nope drive-bys. Thats how people are getting infected not by double-clicking every exe they come across. Some do, most dont.
     
  21. Zombini

    Zombini Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    469

    Btw.. for every truckload that you can come up with for NIS, anyone can come up with a truckload for any other product. The bad guys are really generating malware faster than ANY AV product.

    Ping Pong anyone.
     
  22. solcroft

    solcroft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,639
    Wrong. Drive bys are dying pretty quickly nowadays. More and more machines are getting patched thanks to automatic updates, and social engineering is the thing nowadays: Ecards, porn codecs, rogue antispy apps. When was the last time you heard a major piece of malware propagate itself through exploits?

    So why don't you?

    I can personally guarantee that I can come up with a bigger truckload for Symantec than other mainstream product, save perhaps McAfee and CA, and perhaps Microsoft. After all, why do you think people test AVs for detection rates? Because it's not a matter of that they all miss, it's how much they miss. Simple as that.
     
  23. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    I like the new V2 of 360 a lot. Just as non-intrusive as IS2008 for example, with some useful extras. One of the functions is strange though: the Support chat shows no screen at all, apart form a line in which I read that I am the first person to be helped, but I don't see anything after that. In version 1 there was a nice small screen with info on when the support helper would arrive. Am I alone in this or is this a big bug?
     
  24. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Non-intrusive? Both NIS2008 and 360 V2 do a lot behind the scenes that you may or may not want to happen. It makes many decisions for you (this fact is indisputable) which to me is intrusive. You may want the programs to do things you are not aware of and unsanctioned, but many users will not use these programs because of it.
     
  25. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    You can switch on all the notices that you want to get in the firewall settings...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.