NORTON 2010 is out!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by quanzi_1507, Sep 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 1boss1

    1boss1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Posts:
    401
    Location:
    Australia
    On a Vista Ultimate i done an over the top install and got a blue screen. An XP SP3 i just upgraded i done a custom uninstall (it saved the key) then installed 2010 fresh and no issues.

    So yeah like zfactor, it's wiser to do a fresh installation.

    But otherwise all running good.
     
  2. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    Still running great here too. Really don't see any reason to move to anything else (famous last words!).

    Someone at work asked me what security app I use. As soon as I mentioned Norton a look of disgust came over their face and words like 'hog', 'slow', 'heavy', 'horrible' were thrown around. I asked had they tried the 2009/10 version and were honest and said the last version they tried was about 2006. So unless ppl make other ppl aware as to how good the 2009/10 products are, then there's still people out there who associate Norton with resource hogging.

    Spread the word people!!!
     
  3. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,090
    Location:
    USA
    .
    Yeah, Norton's bad reputation from the past continues to linger. Even the 2008 NIS was dog slow in my experience, so it's only been a year since the dramatic improvements of the 2009 products.
     
  4. Birdman

    Birdman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    571
    Just installed NIS 2010 and thus far it looks and works great.

    During the install, it did not ask my for a serial key. It went ahead and installed a 30-day trial. How do I go about entering my key and resume my subscription?

    Is there a manual way to do this?
     
  5. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    565
    Look below the Norton UI. There is Renew or something.
     
  6. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    yup click renew and then simply enter your key click next and your done

    really liking the new version....
     
  7. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,131
    the company policy hasn't chged have they? I'm mean same folks that give away your info to others...I don't care how good it runs...
     
  8. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    Excuse me for being ignorant but please explain......
     
  9. Arin

    Arin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    997
    Location:
    India
    So far so good. the only hiccup was during installation where it asked for my email address and password to access my Norton Account. But even after doing so it said I have 30 days of validity. After installation I had to go to Subscription and enter my key manually to get it extended beyond that.
     
  10. Birdman

    Birdman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    571
    Worked great. Thanks.

    NIS 2010 gets :thumb: :thumb: up from me. It improved on an already great 2009 product. Kudos to Symantec.

    This coming from a long time Kaspersky user. Unfortunately they've seem to have gone the other way.
     
  11. Zyrtec

    Zyrtec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    534
    Location:
    USA
    Hey,

    I have to admit they [Norton] have improved a lot when it comes to resource usage [CPU/RAM] of NIS 2009/2010.

    Even their corporate solution called Symantec Endpoint Protection 11.0 [MR4 MP2/11.0.4202.75] unmanaged install runs very light on a somewhat old laptop with a Pentium M 1.73GHz, 1GB RAM and XP SP-3. Only uses 12MB Ram idle.

    The only thing I hate about them is that so called Norton Toolbar which installs without permission on IE and Firefox. Other than that they are very competitive now.

    Regards,

    Carlos
     
  12. 1boss1

    1boss1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Posts:
    401
    Location:
    Australia
    Exactly, i disabled all that from within Norton before i launched Firefox/IE and the toolbars were still jammed in to both browsers. Same with Office Outlook, my server sorts the wheat from the chaff so i disabled Nortons anti-spam and the toolbars were still stuck in Office when i launched it.

    But otherwise very good, my PC has been running 36 hours since a reboot and Nortons 2 processes come to 113,104K and CPU is averaging 0.9%
     
  13. ink

    ink Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    185
    Runs fine. Set Sonar to aggressive, then detect my Mplayer as security risk as this file is never see before, then I restore my quarantine and check never scan this file for sonar, but nothing work, next run still deteck, I had to set Sonar to automatic in order to run. Later, I found a way, right click the file, Norton File Insight, click to trust the file
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2009
  14. Siro

    Siro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    92
    Installed it day before yesterday and had no problems at all accepted my key from NIS 09 and working good till now.
     
  15. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,201
    What about SafeSearch/ask.com/IAC in this version ?
     
  16. norky

    norky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    172
    Location:
    Lithia, FL
    i like it other than the toolbars and the ugly flip animation.
     
  17. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,090
    Location:
    USA
    .
    Yeah, the flip animation seems like a concession to the gaming crowd - at least they didn't include space invaders LOL :) I found the toolbar password manager quite useful until I switched to LastPass. Fortunately the toolbar can be hidden.
     
  18. jlo

    jlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    UK
    Just updated from NIS 2009 to 2010 on wifes computer. Tried a bit of new malware I found and fired it off in Sandboxie. Norton insight instantly blocked and said not trusted.

    This insight seems to really add some strong 0 day protection. Good job Norton!

    Cheers

    Jlo
     
  19. kinwolf

    kinwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Posts:
    271
    I love the flip animation. Why can't apps have a little jazz in it :D
     
  20. Chuck_IV

    Chuck_IV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Posts:
    133
    I gotta say Norton has really cleaned up their act. I picked up a couple netbooks(Gateway 3103 and 3114) which had Norton 2009 preinstalled. I was gonna wipe it but decided what the heck, it has 2 free months, so I may as well use it.

    It has done VERY well and hasn't slowed down the netbooks really at all. I was impressed with it enough to give 2010 a try on my main PC and I'm pretty impressed. Again, no bogging down at all and I find it is quicker than what I was using(KIS and Bitdefender).

    The only complaint I have is the dog slow receiving of my email. Norton's anti spam REALLY slows down the receipt of my mail, MUCH more than my previous security suite. I was hoping 2010 would be better with this, but it's about the same as 2009 is(at least when comparing to 2009 on my netbooks).

    Also one other pet peeve of mine that Norton's Antispam does(or doesn't do) which irks me is when it mis classifies an email as spam and I tell it, it is not spam, it still leaves [Norton AntiSpam] in the header, instead of removing it like many other packages do.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2009
  21. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,741
    Location:
    UK
    I've seen this version on a laptop. It was interesting to note the stats provided by Download Insight. Over 62m files processed with the figure increasing in real-time. Over 49m were marked as good and 9m as bad, but 4m was left unclassified.
     
  22. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    Have been beta testing for few months, i really wish i could continue to use this product but it was too expensive for me.

    The cost for NIS 2010 here is 2 - 3 times more then KIS and NOD32
     
  23. Defcon

    Defcon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Posts:
    336
    I purchased Norton 2009 for my fathers pc running Vista. there were issues running it under UAC (e.g. it did not elevate and there was no way to access settings unless logged on as admin) which I didn't like.

    Has this been fixed? I've been using MSE (Morro) for last few months - has anyone switched to Norton from that and what are your thoughts?
     
  24. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
  25. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    Where can i Download a Trial Version? I wanted to test to see if AV only is enough for me. Since Identity and Firewall is a bit useless for me.

    Edit: Found it. It is in Download Section. I was expecting a Trial link inside the product page.

    Edit 2: Er........... are there any more 14 days trail instead of this Stupid Opt Out Trial that require me to input my credit card?
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.