NORTON 2010 is out!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by quanzi_1507, Sep 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. quanzi_1507

    quanzi_1507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    320
    Code:
    http://updatecenter.norton.com/
    The box shots are incredibly good :D
     

    Attached Files:

  2. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    540
    Nice!
    Going to update my relative's computers :)
     
  3. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    .
    Tried it and the updater says my NIS2009 is the latest version. Is there a direct download link for the new build?
     
  4. PnP

    PnP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Posts:
    194
    Location:
    Italy
    use manual and not automatic... now currently use nis 2010
     
  5. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    well this seems exciting,will trial it soon.......
     
  6. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    a very very good product.:thumb: That was a fun beta.
     
  7. 1boss1

    1boss1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Posts:
    401
    Location:
    Australia
    So... Can anyone find the direct download?
     
  8. sarad

    sarad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Wales UK
    Servers appear to be down -overwhelmed?
     
  9. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    540
    I was able to download and install it.
    Now it seems to be offline. Installer was 128MB if I am not wrong.
    First update was 2MB, but it was unsuccessful. Then after I checked again, update size was 48MB.
     
  10. cqpreson

    cqpreson Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    China
    what does it update?
     
  11. sarad

    sarad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Wales UK
    http://community.norton.com/norton/...thread.id=71974&view=by_date_ascending&page=3


    "All,

    2010 is not officially available yet. You must have caught us during our prep work to get things prepared for the final release. When we post the final release, it will be announced here on these forums, in the Norton Internet Security/Norton AntiVirus release forums, and on Symantec.com. We are still planning to release the 2010 version some time this month; I'm sorry I can't give you more specific dates for the release.

    I know some of you are anxious to see this released. Believe me, I share the same feelings . Keep an eye on the forums for an update on the official release. "


    Cheers,
    Tim Lopez
    Norton Forums Administrator
    Symantec Corporation
     
  12. Malcontent

    Malcontent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
    http://download.cnet.com/8301-2007_4-10321265-12.html
    Looks like tomorrow could be the official release day.
     
  13. Hezakiah

    Hezakiah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    165
    Location:
    SW Florida
    Will I need to uninstall NIS 2009 first, or can I install over the top of it with 2010?
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2009
  14. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    you can prob install over but imo when any company does a full version change i prefer to do a fresh install. it usually prevents issues that way
     
  15. Hezakiah

    Hezakiah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    165
    Location:
    SW Florida
    Ahh ok, thanks :)
     
  16. DigitalMan

    DigitalMan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Posts:
    90
    If I'm licensed for IS2009 for another 150 days can I update to IS2010 for free or do I have to stay on 2009?
     
  17. 1boss1

    1boss1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Posts:
    401
    Location:
    Australia
    Your license entitles you to the latest version, so your key isn't year/version specific.

    When you grab 2010 final and input your key you will have the same amount of days left. The Beta's however are a different process.
     
  18. Rain_Train

    Rain_Train Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    139
    NAV 2010 Gaming Edition

    Does anybody know if there is – or will be – a NAV 2010 version of GE?
     
  19. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
  20. 1boss1

    1boss1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Posts:
    401
    Location:
    Australia
    Let us know if it works.

    I think they need to get their UI designers to tear the whole Symantec site down and make a new one from scratch. Currently it's a waste of pixels, broken links everywhere, can't find anything i even ran in to a page today offering to upgrade me to 2007.
     
  21. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    Uninstalled NIS 2009, installed NIS 2010 (trial), subscription carried over and everything working great! Version 17.0.0.136, installer was 80.7mb in size.
     
  22. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    file is still called beta though?
     
  23. kinwolf

    kinwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Posts:
    271
    I installed it tonight also.

    A small warning, if your current subscription has less than 30 days left, run it through with 2009 because 2010 will tell you that your current sub has less day left than the 30 days of the product and will then only accept a new subscrption key, it won't accept the old one and won't give you 30 days. I'll contact support about that but looks like a subs bug to me.
     
  24. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    .
    I had some difficulty trying to install "over the top" of 2009. What worked best was to do a "custom uninstall" of 2009 which saved the key (and any passwords, etc. if you're using the website logon feature). Then when I installed 2010 the key was automatically inserted.
     
  25. Pleonasm

    Pleonasm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    1,201
    Interestingly, the Norton Update Center reports that my Norton Internet Security 2009 (16.7.2.11) version is “up-to-date” and does not offer to download the 2010 edition.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. ankupan
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,320
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.