Noob Question about Disk cloneing and new hardware.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Bobsen, Apr 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bobsen

    Bobsen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    Hi All,
    Hope this hasn't been asked too many times before (I tried searching but couldn't find the answer).
    I want to build a new machine with all new hardware (motherboard, ram, graphic card, etc.) and would like to clone my 'old' system onto the the new hard drives. I have two 250 gig HD's now and have 'split' them up into three drives (with the help of Partition Magic :cool:, in my new system I will put my C drive on a 80 gig disk and then run two 500 gigs disks as separate drives. My present C drive is 60 gigs and split from one of the 250 gig drives.

    My question is how to do this and in the most simplest to understand way. I have a USB Icebox HD holder that has an USB connection to do the transfer.
    I am running TI 10 build 4.871 with Win XP Pro SP2 (all the updates).
    Thanks in advance,
    Bobsen
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    To restore a backup to different hardware you will have to use True Image Workstation with the Universal Restore add-in. You will also need to have the drivers for all devices on the new machine available when you are restoring with the UR.
    You can also try it with the Home version that you have by first changing the display adapter to a generic type. The display will then revert to 16 colors and 640 x 480. Then make the Backup Image and Recover this Image to the new system. NOTE: First make the bootable True Image CD, boot with it on the new system and use the Recovery feature on the menu that comes up.
    By having the generic display adapter the restored Image should boot up on the new system and if it does, you then have to install the new display driver for that system, plus all the drivers for whatever devices the new hardware has.
    In both cases above you will have to keep the Backup on the external drive. So you also need to make sure that the bootable TI CD will "see" that drive when you boot with the CD.
    A third scenario to consider is do you want to transfer all the junk that accummulates in the Registry over to the new system? If it isn't too much trouble I would prefer to reinstall the OS and all my applications from scratch on the new system.
     
  3. Bobsen

    Bobsen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    Whew, no really easy way, huh? Thanks for the info and quick reply.
    Regards,
    Bobsen
     
  4. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I am also an advocate for starting fresh with an OS and needed apps install on a new system. Gets rid of the unused stuff and if you have a problem you won't be wondering if it was because you "copied" the old system over. I also find it to be an excellent refresher on configuration but it does take a bit of time - although if you have troubles with the copying it may well be a lot faster.
     
  5. rodnh

    rodnh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Hi Bobsen,

    I have a dual boot system that I will eventually want to transfer to a new machine. I do not wish to reinstall and reconfigure everything from scratch on both OS partitions. I also am not confident in spending the money for TIW+UR to attempt the transfer (probably a one-time effort), judging from the many problems noted with it in this forum. When the time comes, I will use a cloned, standby hard disk and for the XP partition, I will try an XP repair install per http://www.theeldergeek.com/replace_motherboard.htm to permit installing the correct drivers. I don't think I will have that much of a problem with the 98 partition but we'll see. You need the retail version of an original, bootable XP Pro SP2 install CD to do this, according to the link. For me, it's worth an attempt since I don't have to purchase anything else to try it.

    Rod
     
  6. Bobsen

    Bobsen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    Thanks for the feedback guys. I was hoping to avoid all the 're-install' problems with software and updates, not to mention games and all the other stuff I've got on the disks.
    My XP is running so well on the 'old' machine, I just wanted to move everything over 'en mass' .
    I have always done 'fresh' installs and dread the hours it will take to update everything, plus I always forget something :)
    Thanks again, I was hoping for a quick fix guess thats not gonna happen....
    Best Regards,
    Bobsen
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Bobsen,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please notice that to perform a transfer to a new hardware you would need Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation with Acronis Universal Restore add-on.

    We recommend you to download and install the free trial version of Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation to see how the software works on your computer. With the trial version of the product you will be able to fully use the windows version for a period of 15 days. The standalone version (bootable media) will have only restore function available.

    Please submit a request to Acronis Support if you want to receive a trial version of Acronis Universal Restore as well.

    You can find the detailed instructions on how to use Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation in the respective User's Guide.

    Please visit Acronis online store to purchase the full version of the product.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  8. Bobsen

    Bobsen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    Thanks for the info I have sent a request in.
    Quick question are the trials fully functioning?
    Thanks in advance,
    Bobsen
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Bobsen,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Note that as Marat stated in the above post the limitation of Acronis True Image trial version is that you can only restore an image when you run the program from the bootable media. It is fully functional in Windows. The trial version evaluation period is 15 days.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.