noob cant image

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by avid, Apr 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. avid

avid Registered Member

I'm really new at this stuff,but used ghost a long long time ago to create a disc image.
    I bought TI 10 thinking that i could create an image of my main PC onto an external harddrive, and then image my other two identical PC's from the USB external harddrive.
    I'm finding the instructions and all the posts confusing.It appears that the only way to do this is get into TI 10 via the bootable CD at startup then clone my 'C' drive onto the external harddrive.Thats all well and good ,but then it appears it wants to delete my existing 'C' drive.I dont want to do that,am i not reading it all correctly?

2. avid

avid Registered Member

Could anybody just tell me if i can clone a copy of my 'C' drive to another drive without TI 10 wiping my original 'C' drive please? I would much appreciate it.Thanks.

3. DwnNdrty

DwnNdrty Registered Member

Sure ... this can be done and is the way it should be done. The option to wipe the original is really a stupid one and Acronis should remove it.
    But you need to make the bootable Rescue CD media in order to transfer the Cloned external drive to the other systems. Be aware though that the other systems have to be identical in ALL hardware respects for this to work. Otherwise you have to use a different bootable Rescue CD - True Image Workstation with Universal Restore.
    Instead of doing a Clone to the external, you can also make a Backup Image of the original drive to the external. Then again with the correct bootable CD media you have to use the Recover feature to restore the image to the other systems.

4. avid

avid Registered Member