Non-Responsive Icon (again!)

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Neilyum, Jun 5, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Neilyum

    Neilyum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Posts:
    15
    Hi again,

    It's been about 2 years since my last post (see below) and I'm having the same exact problem. It's obviously with a newer ESET version (6.0.316.0) with latest Virus Sig Database 8412 (20130604) but the problem remains.

    As I asked previously, is there any way to fix this?
    Thanks in advance!!
    Neil :)

    -----------------------------------------
    -----------------------------------------
    Hi folks,

    After recently upgrading from v4 to v5, I've noticed something odd.
    I can no longer interact with the ESET Icon in the Notification Area!

    Nothing happens when I double-click or right-click. (Win7 x64)

    The only response I DO get is when I "mouse-over" the icon, and then I can see the version # (5.0.93.0) and virus sig (6489).

    If I want to actually get into the program itself, I have to go through Start|All Programs...

    Anyone have an idea why this is happening? (and how to fix it?)
    __________________
    Neil ¦¬D
     
  2. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,034
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    My initial thought is some sort of incompatibility with another program running on the computer. Can you tell us a little more about your current computing environment?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  3. Neilyum

    Neilyum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Posts:
    15
    Hello Aryeh! :)

    Thanks for taking an interest in my problem!

    I'm not really sure what you mean by "current computing environment", but here goes:

    Brand new fresh install of Windows7(x64) on a brand new 500 GB HD, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, and all other Programs/Apps newly installed as well (including Eset).

    Please let me know if you're looking for different information!

    Thanks in advance! :)
     
  4. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,465
    Location:
    USA
    Does this happen all of the time? I have found that the icon can be unresponsive if the program is busy. If I open my downloads folder both the icon and the downloads folder become unresponsive for up to about 30 seconds while I assume it must be scanning the files.
     
  5. Neilyum

    Neilyum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Posts:
    15
    Hi xxJackxx,

    Yes, more constant than occasional.

    It wasn't like this when I first installed it (about a week ago), so I'm guessing it's a conflict with some other software or program I've installed since.

    Thanks for trying though! :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.