NOD32V2 feature request..

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by iNsuRRecTioN, Dec 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iNsuRRecTioN

    iNsuRRecTioN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Posts:
    303
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi,

    when you scan a big hdd, a big partition or many of them and you minimize the NOD32V2 scanner window, there are no percent or so information in the NOD32 scanner window title..(like KAV it has..).
    An option, that the NOD32 scanner going to the systray on minimize is also a feature!
    Certainly there have to be an information in the systray icon, with the scan status (percent display..)

    Another feature that is not so important, but it's good, when there are two status lines in the NOD32 scanner "report" tab. One for the current drive or partition and another one for the current dir/file/archive and so on..
    So U now always, on which drive letter, NOD32 scans..!

    Watch the attached file for more understanding what status line I mean :D

    thx

    bye

    iNsuRRecTioN
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Hi Insurrection,

    we will discuss implementing the first feature with our developers. As to your second suggestion. the status line you were reffering to contains information on the current archive file scanned (shows up only when NOD32 is scanning an archive). To list the current file being scanned, tick the List all files check-box in NOD32 Scanner setup.
     
  3. iNsuRRecTioN

    iNsuRRecTioN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Posts:
    303
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi Marcos,

    thx for the info and the discuss with the developers.

    I don't want to see there the files there are currently scanning, I want to see the drive/partition/drive letter..., so I can see every time, on which partition NOD32 currently scans.. ;-)

    thx

    bye

    iNsuRRecTioN
     
  4. iNsuRRecTioN

    iNsuRRecTioN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Posts:
    303
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi again, so, new question :D

    What is about the status line in the attached file, what does or will be show there??

    thx

    bye

    iNsuRRecTioN
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Files and path being scanned. Give it a try ;)

    regards.

    paul
     
  6. iNsuRRecTioN

    iNsuRRecTioN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Posts:
    303
    Location:
    Germany
    hmm, thx Paul Wilders, but not at my NOD32V2 ;-)

    the path and files being scanned are at the status line in the attached file of my first post here in the this thread.

    In the lower status line (at my last post) I never saw anything... o_O

    bye

    iNsuRRecTioN
     
  7. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    My mistake ;)

    When enabled, this field will scroll - see attached screen shot:

    regards,

    paul
     

    Attached Files:

  8. iNsuRRecTioN

    iNsuRRecTioN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Posts:
    303
    Location:
    Germany
    hmm, Paul Wilders, mistake no. 2??

    the attached file shows me what happend in the upper big white status panel!

    But I mean and I have surrounded the statusline with red lines, what will be shown there??

    There where the red "?" shows to the red sourrounded status line..

    lol and thx

    bye

    iNsuRRecTioN
     
  9. NewNOD

    NewNOD Guest

    iNsuRRecTioN,

    I don't know what it's for either. It seems to be just a cosmetic "place-holder" for now, as nothing appears in it during scans.

    Basically, you have:

    1 Big white window ... shows details
    2 Field immediately below the above...shows path of current scanned
    file(s)
    3 Field immediately below the above (your o_O) ... SHOWs NOTHING
    4 Field immediately to right of above...shows overall progress bar (but
    no %)
    5 Field immediately to right of above...shows progress of currently
    scanned file in % (but no progress bar)

    So, I guess they can:

    1. Move Overall Progress (Field 4) To Empty Field (Field 3) and make
    Field 3 a combo Overall Progress Bar and Percent Complete
    Indicator;

    2. Move File Percent Complete (Field 5) To Field 4 and make Field 4 a
    combo File Scan Complete Progress Bar and Percent Complete
    Indicator;

    3. Make Field 5 a Number of files scanned counter or elapsed time
    counter (Flip a coin).
     
  10. iNsuRRecTioN

    iNsuRRecTioN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Posts:
    303
    Location:
    Germany
    thx NewNOD, I think the same :D

    bye

    iNsuRRecTioN
     
  11. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ahh..one of those days :rolleyes: Call me human :D

    regards.

    paul
     
  12. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I agree with NewNOD's suggestions. That would be a nice improvement. I've been wondering why field 3 is blank.

    As for the current drive being scanned that is shown in field 2. So I don't understand your complaint. What are you seeing in that field? I see C:\ current file being scanned. C is my hard drive. When it scans drive A (floppy) is shows as A: and so on for whatever drive is being scanned.
     
  13. iNsuRRecTioN

    iNsuRRecTioN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Posts:
    303
    Location:
    Germany
    no, Mele20, it shows not always the hard drive.
    When files in archives or so are scanned, there is no information on which drive NOD32V2 scanner currently is.

    The overall status and percentage display is there, is no need for another one.

    bye

    iNsuRRecTioN
     
  14. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Well your NOD is different than mine then. Mine ALWAYS shows what drive it is scanning no matter what the files are it is scanning. But then maybe that is because I choose only for it to scan C drive and not A or D when I do an on demand scan. Do I misunderstand you?
     
  15. NewNOD

    NewNOD Guest

    iNsuRRecTioN wrote:
    Mele20 wrote:
    As Tarzan might say, "iNsuRRecTioN right, Mele20 wrong". :)

    When the scanner is scanning inside archives (zips, Outlook Express *mbx's, etc.), the path being reported drops off to include only the name of the items (folders or files) inside the archive...no drive letter or path preceding the contents of the archive is shown. This happens whether scanning one drive are multiple drives, small or large.

    See ya.
     
  16. iNsuRRecTioN

    iNsuRRecTioN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Posts:
    303
    Location:
    Germany
    thx NewNOD! :D

    Thats absolutely true, therefore, I want such an status display, that I ever know, on which drive NOD32V2 on demand scanner operates currently.. :p

    greetz

    iNsuRRecTiON
     
  17. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I see what you are saying but I still don't get why it matters. Obviously dbx files are Outlook Express files and they reside on drive C. As long as you know what is on your drive, you know exactly where the scanner is at any given moment. Maybe I don't see the point because I only used 43% of the space on my W98SE box which has a hard drive of 9gigs. So, I know everything on that drive. I can see if I had more than one hard drive and didn't know which drive the scanner was on that could be irritating. On both my computers, I only have drive A, C , D and A and D I don't scan when doing an on demand scan. i just scan C so obviously the scanner is always on C drive even if I didn't know that dbx files were Outlook Express or didn't know what zip files I have. I guess you guys have several hard drives on your computer.
     
  18. iNsuRRecTioN

    iNsuRRecTioN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Posts:
    303
    Location:
    Germany
    loooool, yes of course, thats it and nothing more!

    You say in your post every time U, u, u, yes, maybe u have only few partitions and you don't need such a display, but I and I think a lot of people more, have many partitions..for example watch my attachmend :D

    greetz

    iNsuRRecTioN

    PS: the red lines are not for you interest :p
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I think you would need a whole word document just for your partitions, to remember what's on and where exactly it is ;)

    Cheers :D
     
  20. iNsuRRecTioN

    iNsuRRecTioN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Posts:
    303
    Location:
    Germany
    hehe, sometimes you're right, but mostly I know where exactly something is, but wherefore is the search function in windows? ;)

    And of course my folders well structured so I can find my things.. :D

    greetz

    iNsuRRecTiON
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.