nod32 <-> ZoneAlarm Pro

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Mugatu, Feb 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mugatu

    Mugatu Guest

    Aghhhhh!!! I'm MAD about this.

    I have latest nod32 for XP (2.12.3), and latest ZAPro (5.5.062.011).
    At ZAPro, every setting regarding antivirus, email monitoring,etc. are disabled. I just want it as plain firewall.

    Each time I boot my computer, the "LSP conflict" between ZAPro and nod32 makes ZAPro lose the whole list of blocked IPs and hosts. And it's really annoying to reload the backup of the ZAPro settings with each boot. I have tried even to disble IMON to avoid the conflict, but I get the same problem.

    You may say that this is a ZAPro problem, and to check ZA forums and so... but they give me no solution!!! They just tell me to change my AV to any other that doesn't conflict with ZAPro!!!! So I just ask here with the hope of finding anybody that has a clue about the way to fix or override this problem.

    The exact log of the "lspconflict.txt" is:

    ------------------------------------------------------
    {28A4D8DA-E908-4C6F-A926-A66CC7AD3224} (NOD32)
    ------------------------------------------------------
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well I have the same setup as you and I donot have any Problems!!
    Did you know that there is a new update on Windows update to slove some of these problems!! Check it out!!

    Update for Windows XP (KB887742)
    This update addresses an issue that could cause your system to stop responding if certain firewall or antivirus programs are installed. You can help resolve this issue by installing this HTTP.sys update from Microsoft. After you install this item, you may have to restart your computer.
    How to Uninstall
    This software update can be removed via Add or Remove Programs in Control Panel.
    Help and support
    http://support.microsoft.com
     
  3. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi,

    I was wondering whether this might help:

    1.
    In NOD32 > IMON > Setup > Miscellaneous >
    1-a:
    Put a checkmark in the box Network Configuration Changes
    1-b:
    Click Repair Now (and reboot).

    2.
    LSP-fix:
    http://www.cexx.org/lspfix.htm
     
  4. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    And one other thing . Do not kid yourself . You will get NO help from ~ snip ~ ZoneLabs . You were lucky to even GET a response . And , I am thinking that it can be circumvented by trying the above . Good luck in your quest .
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 26, 2005
  5. Mugatu

    Mugatu Guest

    Finally, I got the answer by my self...

    Seems that the database corruption of ZAPro is not caused by the LSP conflict.

    It looks like Windows is doing things wrong, as usually... When shutting down the computer, Windows shut all the running apps too. It first send the order to the apps to close, wait some predefined time (WaitToKillAppTimeout), and then Windows itself closes the apps that are still running. ZAPro needs some time to save all the data to its database, and this time is bigger than the default Windows timeout. So, when Windows stops ZAPro while it saves data, the data become corrupted.

    I have changed the 3 "WaitToKillAppTimeout" parameter you can find in the registry, from 20000 to 30000, and in the last bootings, I have suffer no ZAPro database corruption!!!!

    Thanks anyway for your ideas and support
     
  6. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    There really should be no reason to go to 30,000 . 20,000 is actually plenty of time . At least it should be . I ran ZAP with a timeout of 6 , 000 and everything was fine . But , whatever works for you . Good luck and glad it worked out .
     
  7. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    Running ZA Security Suite here with time out set to 5,000 and no problems with corruption.
     
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I would like to ask what firewall you are using I see that you have listed a few at the bottom your post? :D
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 26, 2005
  9. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    I use Outpost Pro as my main one . Strong and powerful . Easy to use for a novice and super powerful for advanced and power users .
     
  10. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    Hey Dagolag .
    I like the " Leafs " too ! Anyway . I( used ) ZAP as early as 5.5 ago . Once you pay for the program , they seldom , IF EVER , return emails . If they do , it is usually a generic answer that will not help .
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Oh well we need Hockey anyways!!!!!!!!!!! I was wondering about PC Internet Control!!

    What do you think? o_O


    Go Leafs Go!!!!! Maybe Next Yearo_Oo_O? :blink:

    dagolag :D
     
  12. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    IF they play next year . lol . pcIP is incredible at what it does . It is expensive but , you get more than a firewall . It also protects from all types of malware . I have had this program actually catch a virus BEFORE NOD . It can stop trojans , worms , viruses , and such . Simple set and forget operation . Protects against zero day attacks . In other words , protects against threats not yet discovered . They will change over to a completely new generation firewall in the Spring . Code name Authsys . remember though . Their approach is NOT to stealth your computer . It is to protect ALL ports from being entered without detection . Hope this helps . Nedd more info , feel free to ask . Good luck in your quest my friend .
     
  13. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,751
    Location:
    Texas
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2005
  14. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    But you still have another firewall Outpost PRO?

    Just to let you know that I'm behind a Linksys routor I had ZA Pro 5.5 not now but I'm looking for something for Extra secruity!! :eek:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.