NOD32 won't update please help

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Vistax64Gamer, Feb 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vistax64Gamer

    Vistax64Gamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    So I just installed this on a fresh operating system with nothing, but drivers.
    I get an error when I try and update which tells me 3353 is the newest eventhough I see on eset that 3896 is the newest.

    http://img90.imageshack.us/my.php?image=errorz.png Double click for full size

    Even a fresh uninstall (Wiped the whole eset folder) and re-installed after a reboot using a brand new download. It still won't update above 3353.
    I just re-downloaded a fresh eav_nt64_enu.exe from eset.com - Same problem

    Please tell me what file in the C:\Program Files\Eset folder contains the
    ESET 3353 update so I can remove it and force it to download the new 3896 update.
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2009
  2. KL3R

    KL3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    Same problem since this morning.
     
  3. KarlS

    KarlS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Clifton, VA USA
    Same here. Running XP SP3.
     
  4. Phil_S

    Phil_S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Posts:
    152
    Location:
    UK
    I was just going to start a new thread when I found this.

    Are you running the full version, or the trial version?

    I have the full version on my computer, and installed the trial version on a new computer that I bought my daughter last week, intending to upgrade to a multi-user licence at the end of her trial.

    A few hours ago, I noticed that NOD had updated to 3896 on my computer, but was still on 3894 on my daughter's computer. I tried manually updating several times, but each time was told that NOD was up to date.

    I have since removed and reinstalled the trial version. It still shows the licence is valid until 19/3/09, but is now stuck on 3553. Trying to update tells me that the virus definition database is up to date, and that the database is current!
     
  5. WowXP

    WowXP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I have the same problem, got 2 versions of nod32 v3. One last updated 23 February (3881). And another one this week re-installed a new computer, definitions from somewhere in 2008. Refuses to update, and yes purchased both.

    Last week both were fine, up until now.
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2009
  6. toto51

    toto51 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Hi

    I run v2.7 antivirus retail.
    NOD32 is stuck with v3875 (20090220).
    I'm unable to update.

    I think that ESET messed up !!! :rolleyes:
     
  7. KarlS

    KarlS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Clifton, VA USA
    Yes, that might be it. Very frustrating. Hope they have tech support for their server(s) on-call over the weekend.
     
  8. Vistax64Gamer

    Vistax64Gamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    I even uninstalled v3 and installed v4 RC 64 bit
    The thing won't even update at all, definately not software

    I have to wonder how vulnerable my system is stuck at 10/24/2008 3553. I'm not sure if eset will even fix this before monday it being the weekend and all, but I am wondering if I will need to reinstall the os again once this problem is fixed.

    I read somewhere that the average pc after reinstall or a format is infiltrated within 20-30 mins while its updating with hotfixes and patches unprotected using the basic windows components.

    Well I just did a clean install and my av is stuck at 3553. Yikes! Probably be safe to reinstall once they get this problem fixed.

    For the person who asked in post #3 I am using a full version on windows 7 64-bit.
    It worked without a problem with all of my other win 7 installs.
     
  9. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
  10. KarlS

    KarlS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Clifton, VA USA
    Just attempted another manual defs update and it worked fine. Guess eset's server(s) maintenance has been completed.
     
  11. kjz

    kjz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Hello!

    Only one question: why was this maintenance not mentioned on the ESET homepage? Or did I miss something? I searched for the error, reinstalled NOD32 from scratch and now have to read that it isn't a fault on my side but only maintenance from Eset.

    Best regards,

    - kjz
     
  12. metalalbert

    metalalbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    46
    Well, I'm having the same issue right now. I upgraded to 3.0.684.0 yesterday and now NOD32 tells me it uses database 3897 while 3901 is already available.

    Manual updating doesn't work as well. What's going on?
     
  13. Dr33

    Dr33 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Posts:
    103
    Same problem here updated to V4 and showing 3304 and shows Update is not necessary
     
  14. kjz

    kjz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Same here:

    Still database 3897, program 3.0.684.0 and showing 'no update necessary'.

    - kjz
     
  15. Togg

    Togg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Posts:
    177
    I'm stuck on 3897 as well with V 3, but my logs show that I got a successful program modules update yesterday while two definitions updates failed. Manual update attempts get the usual 'not necessary' response.

    Coincidentally, I no longer get the emailed Threat Alert notifications, but they stopped on 16th February!
     
  16. metalalbert

    metalalbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    46
    I just did a manual update and it worked. I guess the problems have been fixed?
     
  17. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    manual worked here too.
     
  18. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

  19. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
    Working fine here with a reinstall.
     
  20. kjz

    kjz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Yes, here the update was to database 3901.

    - kjz
     
  21. Togg

    Togg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Posts:
    177
    Same for me - 3901. Obviously my post did the trick by scaring Eset that I wouldn't renew in October (only kidding!)

    Presumably this was server overload connected with putting out Version 4?
     
  22. duijv023

    duijv023 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    230
    Location:
    Rijnsburg, Netherlands
    Hi

    Today, I saw the same issue on a customer's PC (around 18.00 UTC+1).
    Newly recovered, no AV installed. I installed EAV v3 (yes, a fresh download).

    I also did an uninstall, checked if the ESET folders were deleted (Yes).
    Reboot, reinstall and an extra reboot. :p
    I filled in the correct username and password, I hit the update now button and...
    nothing happened "your virusdefinitions are up te date, nu opdate neccessary" Or something like that. o_O
    And thay while defst are from something like 20081024...

    Yes i hope Eset fixes this quickly.
    Such things cost time :(

    Greetings from Holland
     
  23. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,851
    Please follow this: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1415435&postcount=14

    Make sure you download the new v4 with your current license details.
     
  24. duijv023

    duijv023 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    230
    Location:
    Rijnsburg, Netherlands
    OK, i wrote it in a very short way ("ESET folders")
    But I did do this already. Only I did not check/delete the registrykey...
    V4 is not yet available in Dutch, so i'm stuck with v3 for the time being.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.