NOD32 - Windows SP2 - Errors, freezing.

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Recall, May 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Recall

    Recall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    I have installed the RTM of SP2 for vista and I am getting my system freeze at idle. It seems to be more so if I have firefox open, or downloading a torrent ( i was getting the windows 7 rc :p )

    Anyway, just to let you know I have got my system overclocked. However it has been totally stable, does not freeze in games and stability tests such as memtest and prime95. Yet I still thought it could be my system, so i tried everything to get it working.

    I came across what can be described as a lightbulb moment. I decided to disable nod32 while downloading with firefox open. I then left it running while I played on my ps3. Not a single freeze! So it seems there is some issues with compatibility and nod32?

    Now this is not good as I have no antivirus! What could be causing it to freeze my system? Secondly I get the known "a serious error has occured" and I have to reinstall the damn thing.

    Help!

    Virus signature database: 4054 (20090505)
    Update module: 1028 (20090302)
    Antivirus and antispyware scanner module: 1213 (20090505)
    Advanced heuristics module: 1092 (20090309)
    Archive support module: 1094 (2009042:cool:
    Cleaner module: 1040 (20090401)
    Anti-Stealth support module: 1011 (20090415)
    SysInspector module: 1212 (20090414)
    Self-defense support module : 1005 (20081105)
     
  2. pondlife152

    pondlife152 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    UK
  3. Recall

    Recall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    Checked there already, left my comp on all day with NOD32 disabled and not a single freeze. Therefore it is now confirmed it is a software issue. I do not see much action, other than they are working on it from ESET?

    I am a pretty disgruntled customer currently. :thumbd:
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    Do you mean that with real-time protection enabled the computer becomes unresponsive to such an extent that a hard reset is required?
     
  5. Recall

    Recall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    This is correct, I could be leaving idle for say half an hour and it would freeze. Alternatively I could be surfing the net and firefox would just freeze, then the whole system would follow and forced hard reset is needed.

    I have rolled back to version 3 for now and will report if I see any-more issues.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2009
  6. pondlife152

    pondlife152 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, I was just pointing out that there are issues with Vista SP2. And I agree, any problems should have been solved before now. SP2 will be given its full release soon, and those of us on SP1 will be left high and dry.

    Do we not upgrade in which case any future Vista patches will be unavailable, or do we install SP2 revert to NOD V3 which ESET say is nowhere as good as V4?
     
  7. Recall

    Recall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    No problem, I have reverted to V3 for now and see if my issues occur again. I think ESET will have to sit up and listen once SP2 goes official. I can envisage a shed load of posts with issues. :(

    EDIT> OK been using version 3 all night and not a single freeze.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2009
  8. Recall

    Recall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    Just want to post an update for people who have similar problem to me. I have been using version 3 now for about 3 days and it still has not frozen. So if anyone is having issues with SP2 roll back to V4 until ESET get the problem sorted....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.