nod32 will not "remember" settings on restart

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by besonen, Aug 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. besonen

besonen Registered Member

(note i'm replying to this ess thread even though i'm using the antivirus product because i'm experiencing the same problem.)

i'm experiencing this same issue in trial mode on 'Windows XP Pro SP-1' and 'Windows XP Home SP-3'. this is preventing me from testing out nod32 antivirus 4.0.437.0 prior to deploying it to my clients (i'm new to nod32 av v4).

so are you saying it's not possible to permanently disable certain modules?

so you can disable scanning per protocol permanently but you cannot disable the actual modules?

imho, depending on the workstation usage scenario the optimal module configuration varies.

it's hard for me not to imagine that eset did not create a way to permanently disable certain modules. does anyone know how to do this?

this is important to me also.

thanks,
    david

2. besonen

besonen Registered Member

i cannot get nod32 to "remember" the setting changes i make after it restarts.

also, if i load the previously exported settings after restart the changes are not implemented (specifically, i disabled certain functions like email scanning that are automatically re-enabled and can only be disabled by manually doing so--iow, loading the exported settings that include disabled email scanning does not disable email scanning) .

i posted about this in some detail in the ess sub-forum:

~link removed removed....see note below~

has anyone seen this problem and know of how to fix it? i'm using nod32 av 4.0.437.0 in trial mode (i'm testing v4 out before deploying it to my clients) and i'm seeing this problem on 'Windows XP Pro SP-1' and 'Windows XP Home SP-3'.

thanks,
    david

note: since member started separate thread in EAV Forum, post from ESS Forum was merged so as not to have duplicate discussions about their issue....Bubba