NOD32 Vs. Norman - Resource Utilisation

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by penjoseph, Dec 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. penjoseph

    penjoseph Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Posts:
    26
    Before commencing I would like to give a ' Kudos ' to Eset's NOD32 team for designing such an efficient anti-virus product. :)

    I tested Norman & NOD32 Anti-Virus in an old Compaq Presario 1200 Laptop - PIII 700Mhz with 184MB RAM, Windows XP with SP2 (settings & registry tweaked for performance), for system resource utilisation with Windows 'Task Manager' during idle time.

    First I tested with NOD32, uninstalled, restarted & then immediately installed Norman, restarted & tested again.

    By no means this test is conclusive but I must say the laptop boots much faster & no 'hang-ups' during execution of applications !.


    NOD32 Anti-Virus
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v663/eapen/tech/nod32-perf.jpg

    Norman Anti-Virus
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v663/eapen/tech/norman-perf.jpg

    It is quite obvious that the pagefile & virtual memory resource utilisation with NOD32 is much lesser.

    Joseph
     
  2. Megachip

    Megachip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Posts:
    243
    ;) Can anyone try Symantec? *jockeling*
     
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i would like to see how well kav6.0 works on that pc.
    but nod32 is very light amazing product but my dad wanted a suite so i got kis6.0:D
    lodore
     
  4. i_kenefick

    i_kenefick Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    Norman's sandboxing (emulation) is very CPU intensive. There is no comparison between these two products performance wise.
     
  5. tempnexus

    tempnexus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Posts:
    280
    While we are pointing fingers on Symantec, then go right ahead and try the corp version you will see that it's not much more then NOD32 in terms of memory allocation.
    Afterall you stated Symantec and NOT NORTON, so don't bash the whole corporation be it what it may Symantec is CERTED by the JTF-GNO and in the end that is a big deal.
     
  6. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
    With Nod32 i see 23 processes running. (Norman 29). ??
     
  7. penjoseph

    penjoseph Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Posts:
    26
    Thats because Norman relies on a whole lot of executables unlike NOD32.

    Following are the main *.exe s
    Zanda
    Zlh
    Nip
    Nipsvc
    CClaw
    Nvcsched
    Njeeves
    Nvcoas
     
  8. penjoseph

    penjoseph Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Posts:
    26
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    As this is not a NOD32 support issue, I have move the thread here.

    Cheers :D
     
  10. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    You need more ram :)
     
  11. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    A newer computer.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.