NOD32 / VPN Conflict?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by clevelandtxus, Nov 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. clevelandtxus

    clevelandtxus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    For the past few weeks I’ve been testing various AV programs to find a suitable one to replace Symantec’s NAV bloatware. Right now my heart is set on NOD32 but I have one problem I need help with.

    I work from my home and I connect to my office through a VPN. Once I log into the VPN I access my work’s mainframe computer using MSIE. This has worked flawlessly using every AV program I’ve tried except NOD32. After I log in to my VPN and try to open MSIE it just sits there trying to access address 127.0.0.1. I’m aware this is the address for loopback. I went in NOD32 and disabled AMON, IMON, EMON and DMON thinking it has to be one of these components. I’ve even turned off my firewall. If I uninstall NOD32 the problem goes away. To me the problem is one of two things. (1) My VPN connection and NOD32 clash, or (2) there is some setting in NOD32 I have on or off causing the problem. To me this is probably something to do with the HTTP stuff in IMON. But if IMON is disabled why should there be a conflict?

    I never had this problem with NAV, Pc-cillin and AVG. However, I want to make NOD32 my NAV program but need to solve this conflict.
     
  2. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    That's strange...I VPN into 3x different types of environments...PPTP, Linksys QuickVPN, and Cisco..oops..wait, 4x..forgot a Sonicwall GlobalVPN too. Although only one of them doesn't allow internet traffic from VPN clients due ot the way it's setup, not related to NOD32.

    What VPN client/setup/ I can't imagine an antivirus stepping in the way like this.
     
  3. clevelandtxus

    clevelandtxus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    I agree. Why only NOD32 and not other AV programs. I'm going to talk to the VPN guru at my workplace.
     
  4. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    did you try the network settings repair?

    I'm struggling to think of anything that NOD32 could do to interfere with this...
     
  5. clevelandtxus

    clevelandtxus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    How do I do this?
     
  6. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    IMON==>Setup==>Misc==> You'll see the Repair Now button.
     
  7. clevelandtxus

    clevelandtxus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    If I add iexplore.exe to the IMON exclusions list I can access my VPN without any problems. All I have to do is to remember to remove when I'm done.
     
  8. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    what tools are you using for the VPN itself?
     
  9. clevelandtxus

    clevelandtxus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    I log into my workplace VPN using a product named Aventail. Once I'm logged in I connect to my workplace mainframe through MSIE using a product named Switch.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.