Nod32 version 3: antispy monitor? / cpu usage when system idle?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by wibo, Dec 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wibo

    wibo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    I would like to ask two quesitons:

    I have eset nod32 antivirus version 3 since two years on my PC.

    1) Does nod32 antivirus protect my PC for antispyware or do I have to buy a special software for it (p.e. superantispyware)?

    2) Since a few months I noted a high cpu usage when system is idle.
    Can it be eset nod32?
    Does nod32 system operations when my system is idle?
     
  2. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello wibo,

    1) Yes.

    2) No. If system idle process is using high CPU, this is normal.

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
  3. wibo

    wibo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    Are you sure?
    I installed super antispyware on my disc.
    You think it is not necessary?

    Yes... but it is not system idle process it is system.exe.
    That it is not normal :eek:
     
  4. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    You are protected from antispyware with NOD32. Having Super Antispyware as a back-up is okay since it does not run a real time scanner. Having both will give you two layers of antispyware coverage.

    For the system.exe issue, it can be several things that are running this. Please contact our customer care engineers here: http://www.eset.com/support/contact.php
    They will most likely ask for a sysinspector log to assist in analyzing this. To create one refer to the following: http://www.eset.com/support/kb.php?option=com_kb&Itemid=29&page=articles&articleid=762

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
  5. wibo

    wibo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    I have Nod32 version 3 antivirus installed not the smart security suite.

    I have Super antispyware PRO installed with realtime scanner (14 days trial).
    You advice me to uninstall this software and download the free version as back-up?
    Btw what do I have to do with a backup anti-spyware software if nod32 has a reliable antispyware coverage ?

    Thank you very much Richard,
    Wibo
     
  6. davstar

    davstar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Posts:
    21
    Hi Wibo,
    I've been running the latest paid versions of Nod32 Antivirus and SUPERAntiSpyware Pro since early October 2008 both with realtime protection and have experienced no memory issues or other problems. Just don't let them perform a scan at the same time.
    Regards,
    Dave
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.