NOD32 v4 memory usage

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by espguitarguy232, Aug 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. espguitarguy232

    espguitarguy232 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Just went from version 3 to 4 recently and i have noticed that my memory usage under ekrn.exe tends to just build on itself and not go back to idle, which is around 45000K on startup. Version 3 seemed to use just slightly less memory but i do no recall the memory just stacking up, sometimes up to 70000 or 80000k. I am running XP and is this how this is supposed to run?
     
  2. mickhardy

    mickhardy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    Australia
    I think it might give it back eventually. I was watching memory switching between text and gui mode and noticed it increased on every switch, striking me as a memory leak. Then I noticed after a while, it gave it all back.

    I'm guessing it has something to do with garbage collection, a term used to describe the operating system reclaiming released memory when it's ready.

    I could be wrong of course but this would explain the 4kb increments switching between gui and text mode. If you hold CTRL+G down, memory keeps going up but after a few minutes it goes back to normal, which is 3KB for egui and 44kb for ekrn.exe.
     
  3. espguitarguy232

    espguitarguy232 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for your reply.I have given it a while and the memory stacking seems to persist. I do not know if it is scanning downloads and not freeing up memory after it is done or what. Any ideas?
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    Hello espguitarguy232,

    You might want to give a complete description of your computer. Operating system, other security programs you are using, and so on.
     
  5. espguitarguy232

    espguitarguy232 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I am running XP 32bit service pack 3. Hardware is as follows...

    Intel dual core 2160 1.8ghz oc'd to 3.0ghz
    BFG nforce 650i Ultra mobo
    8800gts 512mb video card
    2 gigs OCZ ram

    All drivers are up to date and Nod32 is the only security i have ever run on my comp. I use firefox as my default browser. If this issue is not solvable could i use my new license which I got with v4 on v3 and rollback to that? Im getting a little tired of feeling like i need to reboot to free up memory in order to play games to their full potential. Thanks for your help.
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    You can do that.
     
  7. crutter

    crutter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    19
    I've got a similar problem to this, but using NOD32 v3 on an exchange server. NOD32's memory usage is constantly increasing. At the moment, it's upto 1.5Gb. Any suggestions on how I can find out why it's doing it ?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.