NOD32 v4 deployment - problem with existing versions.

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by j0rgen, Aug 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. j0rgen

    j0rgen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Hi!

    I am currently upgrading a lot of clients to use the new version 4 of NOD32. Today our clients got version 2.5 -> or newer. However we tested to just deploy the new version without uninstalling the existing version. This worked out great in our test-envoirement, no problems at all. But, when we finally were going to do the real thing the problem occured. We are installing the software using a logon script and so far so good, but after the client has successfully installed the new version and rebooted, the username and password is wrong. Default settings is to update from "choose automatically" in the config for the package we're deploying. However, BEFORE we USED the mirror-server mode,not anymore. But it seems like the installation adopts the settings for the mirror anyway from the old-installation on the client-side, because the mirrormode is not in present in any config i've created for the new package. The server does not have mirror mode enabled longer either. So we tested to remove the existing old nod32 installation(v2.7), then run the logon script: The result was that the client installed the new version successfully and now it update the correct way.
    When we don't uninstall the existing version before new install it tries to logon the old mirror-server with the new password and username we have set in the new config for the package(our license number and passord) So here we are, anyone know a fix for this? It's not very practicall to manually remove the installation on every computer..I know there is a choice in the package creator to create a uninstall package but I can't choose anything, the buttons are all greyed out..
    If anyone know a solution, it would be much appreciated.
     
  2. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    Hello j0rgen,

    When upgrading from one version to the next, the settings are copied over from the old version. The best way to make the client point to the correct update server after the install would be to have a policy set on the RA server. This way no matter what setting the client takes, it will be changed to the policy setting.

    The package for uninstalls is already created, all you would need to do is to select it from the Type drop-down.
     
  3. j0rgen

    j0rgen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I'll try out setting policy and then post back here!
    Thanks alot for fast response.
     
  4. j0rgen

    j0rgen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I have now testet to use the policy-manager, but this doesnt work either. Just to test that the policy was working I setup a new fake username and password in the update settings, and this replicates just fine to the clients. And in the same config, i have choosen "choose automatically" to update from.
    However all my clients are still trying to connect to \\server\mirror not "choose automatically"
    I did some digging myself, and I found some interesting in the registry on the clients:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ESET\ESET Security\CurrentVersion\Plugins\01000400\Profiles\@My profile

    Here I got two extra values(compared to installations that works) called:
    SelectedServer --> \\server\mirror
    MirrorFolder --> mirror
    I deleted both of them, and then tried to hit update in the NOD32 GUI, it worked, now updates successfully.
    I have not testet this on real clients yet, this client was a windows 2003 server with regular NOD32 installed.(I have not tried to restart this one yet, to se if the values are just created again, since this is a win2k3 server that got heavy use atm.)
    I'm currently making a logon script who deletes the values&keys before installing the new version to see if it works..

    Or do you guys have a better clue, what to do? :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2009
  5. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    If you create the policy with the update settings in My Profile then it should replace the update profile. If you have a different profile set up for updates and that one is selected, then it will try to use that one instead of the default My Profile.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.