NOD32 v4.2 BE: Excluding extensions - Document protection vs File-system filter?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Reedmikel, Feb 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Reedmikel

Reedmikel Registered Member

As a newbie, I am trying to understand many of the undocumented policy settings.

I was using the Policy Manager to view my policy settings and see Extensions->Extension setup listed under numerous headings:

ESET Kernel->Scanner (Startup scanner)
    Computer scan->Profile (multiple)
    File-system filter
    Document protection

I would imagine that extensions added under ESET Kernel->Scanner (Startup scanner) only apply during a "startup scan", and that extensions added under Computer scan->Profile (multiple) only apply during a scan, right?

But, how about Document protection? When do extensions added under this heading come into play? I am confused as to when extensions added under Document protection would apply vs under File-system filter?

Are any of these nuances documented anywhere? Any whitepapers?

Thanks!
    -Mike

2. DrewD

DrewD Eset Staff Account

Extension setup is to allow you to exclude certain file types from being scanned for threats, usually to avoid certain conflicts, that can affect performance.

There are several scanning modules where you can specify that certain file types, via the extension, are not scanned.

You can also select the opposite, you create a list of file types that will be scanned.

Document protection applies to applications that utilize the Microsoft Antivirus API only.

3. Reedmikel

So if I excluded .DOC files under Document Protection (but not under File-system filter), then opened a .doc file, would the File-system filter scan the file?

Is any of this documented somewhere? How are newbies (or anybody other than the developers) supposed to figure this out?

4. Reedmikel

bump...

5. Marcos

Marcos Eset Staff Account