Nod32 v4.0.467 and Windows 7 error when saving pictures from IE8...

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by GAN, Sep 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jmc777

    jmc777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Posts:
    244
    My workgroup setting is at the default.
     
  2. LeoPheonix

    LeoPheonix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Absolutly - this issue has been ongoing for a while now. My subscription is about to expire and I am now having to think about using a different product.
    A simpe link to the older version would solve my annoying issues until a fix is developed.

    I have made no chages to my Workgroup name.
     
  3. Victor Hugo

    Victor Hugo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    i've also been having this problem with 4.0.467.0 - saving files in Adobe Photoshop intermittently results in a permissions error. some days i can go without this happening at all, other days it will happen every two or three file saves. retrying the save once or twice fixes the problem.

    has the cause of this issue been identified yet? and are we any closer to a fix?
     
  4. the1

    the1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    I am interested to know how other people with the logging driver are going. Has the error appeared since you have been logging?
     
  5. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    667
    No. I couldn't get it to appear at all. The log file was building ok, but I couldn't get the error.

    So, I fully understand the frustration of the ESET guys. As a Windows developer myself, I know it can be a nightmare to find a problem if you can't recreate it.



    Jim
     
  6. adoucette

    adoucette Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Could the rest of us have access to something that will temporarily fix the problem? Sounds like the logging driver or the older version would both provide a quick fix but we have neither.
    How many times do people in this thread have to ask? Marcos?
     
  7. adoucette

    adoucette Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Posts:
    7
  8. jmc777

    jmc777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Posts:
    244
    The logging driver introduced a slight sluggishness on my system, so I wouldn't want to use that. The older version adoucette posted would be the best way to go.
     
  9. preedtx

    preedtx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Was happening to me also, on Win7 x64 final official version from TechNet, with Smart Security 467. I found 437 in my files and installed that on a clean install of Win7, then tested out saving files from both downloading them and from creating them with things like notepad, Word, etc. I don't have the problem on the 437 version, but who knows what bugs they fixed between 437 and 467, they might be important ones. My tests with SS467 were clean installs of both Win7 and Smart Security and the problem repeatedly occurred with things as simple as saving a file from Notepad to the desktop. Definitely some sort of conflict between Windows 7 security features and something implemented in the scanner in version 467. Think I'll stick with 437 until I hear some success stories with updated versions.
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Good news guys, it seems we have pinpointed the issue. Could you confirm that the problem occurs when saving files to the desktop or to a folder visible on the desktop in an Explorer window? Most likely it affects only high performance systems when the OS detects creation of a new file but doesn't wait until it's fully created and attempts to gather information about the file even though it has zero size. This event is subsequently detected by real-time protection driver which locks the file temporarily. We have a workaround for this unusual OS behavior ready and I'll provide it to some of you who have contacted me so far. Once we confirm that the new driver fixes the issue, we'll make newer installers that will be put on the download page after they pass the pre-release QA testing.
     
  11. Victor Hugo

    Victor Hugo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Are you saying?

    1) am i either try to save a file to the desktop or
    2) i am saving it to a folder on my hard disk, but have an explorer window open to that folder, possibly minimized?

    if that's the case, then in my case this is definitely the case and confirm that when the file is create and an error pops up, the file is zero bytes.
     
  12. kem

    kem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    In my case I have only seen it happen when saving to the desktop. I'm glad it sounds like you found it. Hopefully a resolution will be available very soon.

    - KEM
     
  13. Andydigital

    Andydigital Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Yes I am seeing this problem too and I have an SSD as my main OS drive so the speed issue could be at the route of the problem like you say. A second attempt to save a file almost always works for me.
     
  14. marclallen

    marclallen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    YES! This is EXACTLY what I am seeing. I never noticed it until now. I was able to download apps and all sorts of stuff via Firefox with no trouble. I've only ever had issues when downloading to a directory which was open in an explorer window or the desktop.
     
  15. the1

    the1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    I am yet to receive the message when saving to my desktop (although I have't really saved many things really, as of late).

    Just within iTunes I have been getting the error.
     
  16. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    I got fed up with this and removed NOD32 and installed a competitors AV/IS. However, when I did have NOD32 installed and was having this problem, it occurred within any program and to any folder I saved to.
     
  17. SolidState

    SolidState Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Posts:
    92
    Uhh have any of you disabled AV in firefox if the problem is when downloading in firefox? I found with it's build-in scanning it caused a huge hang when a large file is downloaded in firefox while using NOD32. I also wonder if Windows Defender is turned on with these Windows 7 machines... I'd nuke/disable Windows Defender...

    Solid-State
     
  18. JeremyWW

    JeremyWW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Posts:
    237
    Just had this occur with Firefox, saving a .jpg image to the 'Pictures' folder (Windows 7 Ultimate 32 Bit). Tried again and it worked though... It's happened twice, but I'm not losing sleep over it.

    Edit: Defender is disabled...
     
  19. SolidState

    SolidState Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Posts:
    92
    Disable AV scanning in Firefox

    about:config

    browser.download.manager.scanWhenDone

    change to "False" to disable it.

    Solid-State
     
  20. Andydigital

    Andydigital Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    It's got sweet FA to do with Firefox, if you read some more of the posts in this thread then you would see it happens when saving files in many different programs, even saving word documents exhibits the same issue.
     
  21. SolidState

    SolidState Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Posts:
    92
    Yeah I see it doesn't... BUT it's a good thing to disable Firefox's AV BS anyway right !?! I'm sure the next build of Nod32/ESS will address these issues.

    Solid-State
     
  22. Martinus

    Martinus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Posts:
    29
    Hello Marcos,

    In my case, I was saving the picture in the picture folder.

    Martin
     
  23. eimmerman

    eimmerman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    I see it saving to any library folder. I am running a SSD so my system is extremly fast as well.

    Eric

    Windows 7 64-Bit
     
  24. the1

    the1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    Would it help if people experiencing the issue post their system specs. Marcos?
     
  25. radionecrotic

    radionecrotic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Having an Explorer window open to the folder I'm trying to save to reliably generates the error on my system. I'm running a pre-release version of Windows 7 64-bit (build 7100) on an Acer Travelmate 6293 (2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM). This machine isn't much of a speed demon, so I don't think this is an issue only for high-performance systems.

    edit: I get it with three different browsers (IE, Firefox, Opera) but only when I try to save images or download files bigger than about 2K or when I print to file with Foxit PDF Creator.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.