Nod32 v4.0.467 and Windows 7 error when saving pictures from IE8...

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by GAN, Sep 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,765
    Location:
    USA
    So of course when I try to log this today I can't get it to happen... o_O
     
  2. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    I did a upgrade to 4.0.467 again so i could provide you with the requested info and just like Jack posted here i'm unable to reproduce the same behavior. I have no idea why it's working flawless now.

    Since i posted about this problem for the first time i can see that the following modules been updated:
    - Antivirus and Antispyware scanner module
    - Archive support module
    - Cleaner module
    - And of course the virus signature database

    Since this problem have nothing to do with archives or cleaning the only module i believe could have anything to do with the problem is the Antivirus and antispyware module. So you have any idea what been fixed in this module since September 25th and if that one could have been the reason for the problem?

    At the moment everything seems to work fine with 4.0.467, but i'll post back if the problem return and then i could also provide you with the requested info.
     
  3. SwissSteph

    SwissSteph Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    Hello,

    I also can no longer reproduce the problem I had! :doubt:

    I switched to version "437" yesterday ... and no more problems. Following messages "xxjackxx" and "Gan", I downloaded the """new""" version "467", I compared my "old" file with the """new""" (with Ultra Compare ") have the same files, then I install the """new""" file.

    Reboot my computer.

    With my little "test plan" I no longer have the error message!

    My protocol:

    1. I download about 15 separate small files "attached" to messages from "Thunderbird"

    2. I converted with "Photoshop" file "Png" in "bmp" several times and saved each time under a different name.

    3. I saved several times under a different name, a "word" file.

    All this on my "Desktop".

    At this writing, I can no longer get this error message. I hope the programmers at "Eset" will not conclude that we have invented this particular problem AND make more replication in the next versions...

    My Windows is : Windows 7 Pro (US), x64, registered at Microsoft with a "MAK key"

    Excuse-me for my bad english :'(
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Have you noticed a hotfix issued by MS that might have been recently installed and could affect the issue?
     
  5. SwissSteph

    SwissSteph Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    No, because there is not much update for Windows 7 because it is not officially for sale.

    Especially "Windows Defender" which will begin to date. I have not noticed any link. I "accused" to twist the Program "Windows 7 Manager " I had to install, but he is not the cause...

    VERY sorry for my bad english ... I hope I can make understood :'(
     
  6. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    It's hard to say for sure if it's a Windows problem. What i do know is that i didn't have any problems using 4.0.437 and then did a upgrade to 4.0.467 the same day or the day after release (cannot remember). After upgrading to 4.0.467 the problem as described that i never seen before started. Since i didn't install, upgrade or made any other changes to my system at the same period of time i supspected nod32 to be the reason. So i did some tests and couldn't make the problem go away until i removed nod32 and then reinstalled 4.0.437 and the problem were solved.
    Later i did a new upgrade to 4.0.467 to get the logs as requested and the problem were gone. I did not install any MS patches/hotfixes during that period of time, but i can see that some of the nod32 modules been updated while i was using version 4.0.437.

    So it would be interesting to know if some changes have been done to those modules, but also unless i'm wrong it's the exact same modules used in 4.0.437 and 4.0.467 so cannot see how that could be the reason either.

    Not sure what happened and would have been nice to find the reason, but at least it seems to have been solved now for some reason.
     
  7. PRJUS

    PRJUS Guest

    I really tried but...

    When I have Process Monitor running the problem does not occur but when I stop it the problem shows up every time.

    It seems as if Process Monitor delays the whole process long enough for NOD32 to finish whatever it is doing so that it doesn't lock the file for the PDF exporter to finish it's work.

    I have tried many times and have tried to disable as much as possible but to no avail!
     
  8. River

    River Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I've got the same error message when saving images from Firefox 3.5.3. Also in iTunes sometimes a message pops up saying the iTunes library can't be saved.

    Running Windows 7 Professional build 7600 and NOD32 AntiVirus 4.0.467.0.
    Switching off scan on "File Creation" seems to help. Will there be an update?
     
  9. SwissSteph

    SwissSteph Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    :mad: ... for me too, Firefox 3.5.3 + Nod32 Antivirus 4.0.467, the error is still there, if I save a picture!
     
  10. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    After using the computer with 4.0.467 for some time the problem is back so not working after all:( When process monitor is running it's hard to reproduce the error for some reason. Seems like i will go back to the previous version once again.
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,057
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I had already gone back to .437 until Eset figures this problem out! ;)

    TH
     
  12. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    667
    I got my fingers burned with V4, and as such I haven't even downloaded 4.0.467 - we're sticking with 4.0.437 :) With many products I'm happy to download new releases and patches the day they come out, as I know they will be well tested and will work without problems. But not this one....

    Jim
     
  13. SwissSteph

    SwissSteph Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    I am also (still) back to the "437" :rolleyes:
     
  14. River

    River Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Is there a ftp from ESET where I can get .437?
     
  15. zerocool77

    zerocool77 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I to would like to re-download .437. After installing .467 i've had nothing but problems on my Win 7 x64 Ultimate OS. I experience the same problem as everyone else does especially when using Firefox 3.5.3 and iTunes 9.x. It's also gotten to the point to where Windows 7 will crash (BSOD) randomly. I never had these problems until I updated to version .467.
     
  16. SwissSteph

    SwissSteph Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Posts:
    20
  17. River

    River Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Any update for this? :D
     
  18. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,765
    Location:
    USA
    Yesterday I had trouble saving exe files from the internet on my desktop. The problem seems to be totally random for me. Most of the time it does not happen. o_O
     
  19. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    I went back to 4.0.437 because of this problem. Then i did a new upgrade to 4.0.467 to reproduce this problem and it didn't happen anymore. After using the computer for some hours the problem returned tho. So not sure if it happen after a while or if it's random, but obviously it doesn't necessarily happen all the time. When the problem start to happen tho it doesn't go away it seems and then it's easy for me to reproduce.
     
  20. jmc777

    jmc777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Posts:
    244
    Still seeing this with Opera on Windows 7.
     
  21. drgoldie

    drgoldie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I am a bit annoyed that ESET has still not released an update.

    This is a major issue. I had to disable "scan on open" and "scan on file creation" to get my system to work properly (problems with Word2007 and Irfanview, Notepad++ and others). I even think about going back to the previous version.

    ESET: Please do something about this!
     
  22. aakash

    aakash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    I too am experiencing the same problem in FireFox. I tried to record this with Process Monitor (PM), but the problem seems to disappear.

    After reading this thread, it appears the problem happens while using the Save As PDF functionality in Word - I had the same results. But this time, after starting PM, I get a different consistent message that says "This file is in use by another application or user". I assume this is related to the original error.

    Who do I submit this PM log file to and how would you like me to send it? The file is 12mb using .7z compression and 21mb using .zip compression.
     
  23. PhilD

    PhilD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Posts:
    9
    Same error in firefox and internet explorer when attempting to save pictures or PDF file opened within browser. running NOD32.467 on Windows 7 Professional 32 bit retail.
     
  24. Furehead

    Furehead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Same error (not enough rights / file locked) when trying to create new files with Adobe Programs (i.e. Indesign CS4) and Word 2007 if trying (the same with save as...).
    Windows 7 64 Bit, Eset Nod32 4.0.468

    Occurs also if process monitor is running: says file locked
    But I don't know what data I can leave you here to reproduce the problem.

    It seems like ESET file activity scanner locks files that are created by any program to check whether it is clean directly after creation. But the program (Word / Indesign) creates zero-byte files first, then tries to fill them with content - which is not possible because it is already locked by NOD32 somehow.

    If the activity scanner is configured not to scan files while "opening files" the problem does not occur. All other scanners don't affect this process (create files is ok).

    So for me it seems that the creation of new files in some programs is disturbed by the scanner that should only scan the opening of existing files.
     
  25. Martinus

    Martinus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Posts:
    29
    Hello Marcos,

    I do have the same trouble.

    I do not know if a link is permitted but here what I do :

    I go to this site to download new wallpapers : http://masseffect.bioware.com/media/wallpapers

    I choose one and a new instance of IE8 show up. Right click and choose Save Picture As..." this bring up a window that point to Pictures folder. And I do Save.

    For me it seem to be a timing issue. If I try to do it fast I have a good chance to pop the error.

    Just hope this help.

    Martin.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.