NOD32 v3

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by weezyrider, Mar 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. weezyrider

    weezyrider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Posts:
    35
    Is anyone noticing any conflicts between NOD32 and Zonealarm?
    The icon just turned orange, says computer is not protected, but today's update is there (v3.0. 695.0.) User was watching TV and not online, but connected.
    XP, NOD32, Zonealarm - (not sure what version but the free one, but he has it set to update)
    2 Laptops are online - same XP and NOD32, but using Online Armor instead of ZA. (1 paid, 1 free) . We have not seen any complaints from Eset. 2 laptops are wifi.
    Just fired up the 2k PC. That uses a cable like the PC with the conflict. NOD isn't complaining there, either.
    W2K computer had problems with 695. Went back to the version 3.0.665.0
    One laptop is running 3.0.695.0.
    Do we have to re-install the older version?
    Thanks,
    Weezy
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,740
    Location:
    Texas
    Does the message give a reason it's not protected?
     
  3. weezyrider

    weezyrider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Posts:
    35
    The XP pc gave no reason. The 2K pc said something wasn't allowed to run.
    The XP pc has been running fine with 695 until today's update. The 2K had the error immediately after an update and rebooted.
    The XP and 2K are the only 2 that are connected by cable to router.
    The XP with the problem runs ZoneAlarm.
    Just fired up the 3rd PC that connects by cable to router. That one says NOD can't connect to server.
    Weezy
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,740
    Location:
    Texas
  5. weezyrider

    weezyrider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Posts:
    35
    Now the 3rd PC that couldn't connect to server just updated after I let it sit for a couple of minutes and then told it to update.
    Weezy
     
  6. weezyrider

    weezyrider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Posts:
    35
    All the XP PCs have the latest version. The 2K got rolled back. Leaving the 2K alone as it has special software installed for my daughter's college course. I'll update it again after she graduates in May.
    Weezy
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,740
    Location:
    Texas
    The only thing I can think of is some sort of interference in the connection at the time of updating, be it the ISP or WiFi connections.
     
  8. weezyrider

    weezyrider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Posts:
    35
    That PC that is having the problem keeps telling the user to update - he clicks on update and update says the file is current. The update with today's date is there but the icon is still saying his computer is at risk. He turned off ZA and rebooted w/o ZA and still got the same error.
    I'm worried that he has no protection.
    Our wifi is fine - the 2 laptops are not having the problem. One XP computer that was just updated and rebuilt got the message that Eset could not communicate with the server. Let that PC sit for 10 minutes and told it to update again, and it did.
    The 2K version that was downgraded is having no problem with the updates.
    It did have almost the same problem as the PC in question, but that was a couple of weeks ago. The newer updates haven't bothered it.
    So I don't think it's the router. The user ran a scan with NOD, and SAS and found nothing. He's checked the Zonealarm link, booted and rebooted and the icon is STILL orange.
    Daughter is on her laptop, I'm on mine - right now with no problems.
    Weezy
     
  9. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,740
    Location:
    Texas
    The user could try a repair install. Control panel, add/remove software, click on ESET NOD32 for the repair option.
     
  10. weezyrider

    weezyrider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Posts:
    35
    I'll tell him.
    Thanks
     
  11. weezyrider

    weezyrider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Posts:
    35
    He finally got around to trying the repair. It did work as the icon is now green.
    Thank you, Ronjor and Siljaline from Broadband.
    Weezy
     
  12. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,740
    Location:
    Texas
    Thank you for the feedback Weezy.
     
  13. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Thank you for the help on this one, Ron !
    For continuity, I'm linking the offsite discussion to this thread.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.