Nod32 v3.0 good or not ?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Link, Nov 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Link

    Link Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Posts:
    44
    Im using nod32 antivirus 2.7, install v3.0 or not , is it good or some problems ?
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,721
    Location:
    Texas
  3. Janner

    Janner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    Personally, I have just downgraded back to v2.70.

    First I tried to get v3.0 to work with Outpost Firewall 2008 (which v2.70 did). Failed.

    Then I tried to get v3.0 to work reliably on its own. Failed again.

    The main problem I encountered was gaining consistent and reliable web access. It was working okay briefly, but it got to a point where even having web access and HTTP scanning disabled was not enough to have my browsers working as they should (both FF and IE).

    I'll probably try again when there have been a couple of updates (and when I have another day to spare!).
     
  4. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I installed NOD32 v3.0.551.0 this afternoon over my v2.7. The download and installation was smooth and quick. After a brief look at the instructions, I checked out the interface and options, then did a standard scan just to see how it would do. It is running smooth as silk with no apparent bugs and I think the GUI is a nice improvement over the 2.7 version. It's a keeper as far as I can tell at this point.:D
     
  5. bcronin

    bcronin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    Hyde Park, NY USA
    > It's a keeper as far as I can tell at this point.

    Ditto, for what its worth.
     
  6. nodHead

    nodHead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Posts:
    85
    It's good, but will be great after some jittery bugs are sorted. I'm looking forward to a fix to the broken internet graphics and connection reset issues myself.
     
  7. elefteris

    elefteris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I like the new version of nod. previews version caused some problems in vista which i have yet to expirience in the newer version. I like the new GUI also!
     
  8. bcronin

    bcronin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    Hyde Park, NY USA
    I am not seeing any such problems on Vista Ultimate with Firefox 2.0.0.9. I uninstalled 2.7, did a clean install of 3.0 and took all the defaults. I should add that the Vista firewall is OFF on my PC. Perhaps its related to my success ...
     
  9. delah

    delah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    80
    Location:
    Ireland
    Juts upgraded 2.7 to 3.0 and so far so good.

    I have KIS7 as my firewall and webscanner and manual scanner and NOD32 as RTScanner.
    Works perfectly.

    Howver, NOD32's web scanning on my machine was very flakey (and that's with KIS7 disabled completely and PC rebooted)

    I am definitely not in the market for the new ESS as the reports are bad - I always had problems with Nod32's IMON.

    Is the option to view RTS files now gone in v3.0 as I can't find it anywhere?
     
  10. Pfipps

    Pfipps Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Posts:
    181
    Good for me, fast and no problems. However, there is a startup delay for the system file scan at boot.
     
  11. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    good upgraded from the 2.7 and so far smooth running and much nicer GUI.
     
  12. delah

    delah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    80
    Location:
    Ireland
    UPDATE:
    My Vista PC keeled over after a day or so with v3 installed. Lockups and my first ever BSOD.
    Back to v2.7
     
  13. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    It's funny how the same exact app. when installed on one computer works great, but crashes etc. on another. IMHO some of the problem lies not so much with V3, but with the fact that we each have our computers configured differently with more or less stuff and tweeked more or less. I'm not talking about v3 features that are or aren't included, I'm talking about shaky performance and crashes etc. Actually given the amount of v3 downloaded, which I understand is in the hundreds of thousands, the amount of complaints at Wilders in relation to copies downloaded is pretty small. It must be almost impossible to satisfy every concievable computer setup.:)
     
  14. Katril

    Katril Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Posts:
    21
    Well one there is a couple of different releases floating around.



    That could explain the different reactions from different systems.


    I would check back with the site and be sure you have the latest release.
     
  15. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    Well, the final had some big problems.....I hope you're not trying to say, that the problems are due to 'different configured' computers. As you could have read, there are enough 2.7 users having no problems and after the upgrade to version 3.0, it started to rain.......
    Looking at the complaints, compared to the number of downloads, is not fair either, as not every downloader even knows about this forum, so not every complaint is stated here. There must be more people having problems after buying the new 3.0 than we will ever know about!
     
  16. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Point well taken. For those who downloaded v3.0.551, I see Eset has released an update v.3.0.563. I did the update and don't see anything obviously different. Perhaps they fixed your particular problem. I'm good for two.:)
     
  17. Nodrog

    Nodrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    UK
    2.7 running for years
    upgrade to 3.0.560 - ran ok
    upgrade to 3.0.563 - Aman simply refuses to run with no useful error message or event anywhere to be seen

    remove and manual cleanup in between each attempt:-
    2.7 still good
    3.0.560 still good
    3.0.563... quack quack oops!

    All I've got is a clean build XP/Office 2k3, fully patched, and the only other security software (Outpost) is currently disabled. The hardware's a bog standard Dell too... nothing complicated anywhere.

    regards
     
  18. Nodrog

    Nodrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    UK
    ...and now it works? Wierd!

    Had to clean the computer, install 2.7 and then upgrade to 563... don't ask... I have no idea.

    cheers
     
  19. yamanskheita

    yamanskheita Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    lebanon
    am using the smart security version with the antispam and the firewall on vista home premium and everything works perfectly. no slowing down, no hasher, no mistakes in catching.
    i think this is the best suite so far for all in one protection.
    btw the firewall is a class A product, better than kaspersky and many others.
    :thumb: ;) :p
     
  20. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    Now were are still getting EAV and ESS posts mixed up here in the one thread for Eset Nod Antivirus. Please post in the proper section, as there are separate threads created.
     
  21. zaid786

    zaid786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Posts:
    16
    I have permenant BSOD's aswell with version 3.0.551.0 standalone AV on windows vista which happen before vista even boots! Just can't get back onto vista! I think I have to go into safe mode and uninstall it.
     
  22. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    I dont like version 3 much at all at present, seems to me it was made for and tested only for vista, on xp it doesnt run very well.
     
  23. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    New York City
    I disagree. If you a have a specific problem that cannot be solved by forum members, you can submit a support request via Help and Support of the NOD GUI.
     
  24. nodyforever

    nodyforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    PT / Lisbon

    More Information here
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.