NOD32 v2.70.39 creates 2.56GB in C:\Windows\Temp

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by KevinN206, Jan 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KevinN206

    KevinN206 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    There are 8 files in C:\Windows\Temp that are taking 2.56GB. The files seem to be created by NOD32 or (something) since only nod32krn.exe has handles on all 8 files (from handle.exe, part of MS utilities).

    Steps that led to this (everything was running smoothly before):

    1. NOD32 v2.70.0.39 installed and updated to 2786. RESTARTED.
    2. Run True Image Home v11 to image my freshly installed Windows Vista with all drivers and security updates.
    3. True Image finishes. I then visited www.divx.com to download the DivX program from Internet Explorer 7.
    4. The download stops with about 200KB remaining and the download dialog freezes.
    5. Hard drive goes CRAZY, so opened up Resource Monitor.
    6. Inside C:\Windows\Temp are 8 files with NOD****.tmp newly created. The files are locked to nod32krn.exe. File NOD6B50.tmp grew to 1.69GB and stops. Hard drive still goes crazy, everything is slow. Can't delete them since nod32krn.exe has handles on them.
    7. Restarted, now I can delete them.
    8. Try download DivX again, same symptoms. The download dialog freezes with a few KB left, and new NOD****.tmp are created.

    Is this a problem with the new update 2786? Everything was working perfectly until I updated to this one. All the downloads went fine.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. KevinN206

    KevinN206 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    NOD32 just updated automatically to 2787 but the problem is STILL there. I cannot download the file. NOD32 and the hard drive goes CRAZY non-stop. I had to hard shutdown the laptop since Windows became unresponsive.

    I then tried to download the same file again from my desktop PC, the same problem happens. The desktop also runs Vista and NOD32 v2.70.39, 2787. I don't think it's a concidence that the largest file created (NOD776D.tmp) is also 1,774,101KB or 1.69GB on the desktop.

    Update:

    I let the download continue on the Desktop PC, and it finally stopped after about 10 minutes of disk trashing. There are now two (NOD776D.tmp & NODB3F8.tmp) 1.69GB files in the Temp folder. The file is downloaded correctly with no corruption.

    For some reason, the laptop downloads files from Dell updates (zip executable .exe) just fine. There's something special with that DivXInstaller.exe. Can someone try download that file for me? It's at www.divx.com. Just click on "Free Download".
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2008
  3. the_sly_dog

    the_sly_dog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    The Heart Of London
    Nothing wrong with that link, just tried it

    i had same prob earlier with nod wouldnt scan at all just froze and made 6 gig worth of temp files and pc came to a halt


    try this atf cleaner select all and run it http://www.atribune.org/content/view/19/2/

    worked for me bud
     
  4. KevinN206

    KevinN206 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    So it begs the question if that's a bug. Mine actually went up to 3.3GB with the DivX installer file. It seems fine for every other files I have downloaded so far.
     
  5. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
  6. skywalker88

    skywalker88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Hey guys, I'm having the same problem here, but I'm different with KevinN206's situation, mine one happened after I open the Internet Option-->Programs-->Manage Add-Ons, so after the very second I click on Manage Add-Ons, the add-ons window seems like hanging or something else, the "torch light" keep scanning for the add-ons. My pc somehow became very slow, some of the programs(windows) became not responding and even I have to take up to few minutes to restart my pc, usually I can do the reboot within 20 seconds only. After I manage to restart my pc, I thought my drive is too messy with stuffs, so I try to defragment my C drive and I've notice that there's huge of bytes are missing from C drive( about 10 GB), then I tried to track down where all the bytes gone to, finally I found out that C:\WINDOWS\Temp has increase with some new temporary files with large bytes and file name as NOD***.tmp, *** may refer to numbers or aphabets.

    Thank you for listening my story and I appologize for my bad english.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2008
  7. red_jack

    red_jack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Posts:
    56
    Can't even download it anymore. It used to just sit at 100% cpu for a several secs. Now I have to kill firefox pid and clear it. This is getting old. Multiple problems the last few months, more than I ever had with NOD over the past four years.
     
  8. the_sly_dog

    the_sly_dog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    The Heart Of London
    Gave up Problem gets worse. Uinstalled it That was a mission!!!
    Then reinstalled eset same prob but this time took abit less temp hdd space but upon reboot it goes in to a disk check loop. Leave it to complete the windows disk checker No errors found, Then when windows starts up Bang starts freezing pc.
    It`s unusable Try and open anything u could go on holiday for 2weeks come back it still wouldnt been open.....

    same prob with eset smart security i encounted

    100% cpu all the time hard drive led alight solid

    Try to unistall it the unistaller just gets stuck left it for 10minutes ?? money well spent worth £37 for this much fun off to get some popcorn
     
  9. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
  10. the_sly_dog

    the_sly_dog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    The Heart Of London
    Your lucky your one finished !!! Mine gets stuck if u try to scan :thumbd: :thumbd: :thumbd:
     
  11. KevinN206

    KevinN206 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    Although the problem may not apply to all the files, it seems it's not an isolated case. Since I managed to download the file in tact, I decided to do a manual scan with all settings maxed. You can see in the screen shot that it took 12 minutes to scan that single file (w/ 409 files w/in). My laptop hard drive was constantly thrashing and Windows was slow.

    Sure enough, NOD32 also generated over 2GB of data in the user profile Temp (instead of C:\Windows\Temp) probably because it wasn't scanned under an administrative context (versus the real-time scanning service). Btw, the last four characters of NOD****.tmp are in hexadecimal or base-16. There isn't much to say other than hoping Eset sees this and do something about it. I am not upgrading to v3.0 any time soon since I actually prefer this older interface more :) .
     

    Attached Files:

  12. the_sly_dog

    the_sly_dog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    The Heart Of London
    i agree i still prefer the old interface..

    My laptop is sooooooooooooooooo slow cant be asked to try and fix it tomorrow i will just put the recovery disk in :D :D :D :D :D

    Please eset try and fix it
     
  13. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
    At this moment, is anybody from eset following this tread and like to comment.
     
  14. Gribus

    Gribus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    ..maybe their C drives are stuck :shifty:
     
  15. avien

    avien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Mine also does this. I have been using ESET V3 Anti-Virus and noticed this problem for creating as large as 8GB temp files on my and my families computer. The computer would freeze and hang until i force ekrn.exe to close. This would unlock the system, but as soon as i would try to install Divx Web Player again, the same thing would start all over.

    I since went back to V2.7, but it seems the same thing is happening with the Divx web player. Not more then 5 minutes from writing this post, i just had to delete 3.5gb of NOD temp files after installing Divx web player. The only way i got it to install is by ending nodkrn.exe when firefox says it is downloading and at 100%.


    Why is NOD freaking out now? It has never been like this as long as i can remember.
     
  16. the_sly_dog

    the_sly_dog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    The Heart Of London
    I dont know what is worse the freezing or lack of eset support.....
    Come on eset tell us what is the real problem and when it will be resolved please o_O?
     
  17. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    The file is a big one and Advanced heuristics need time to emulate it , this might make NOD32 (nod32krn.exe) create more temp files . If something hangs , NOD32 might go into loop .

    I have no problems , the files was downloaded . It did take more time to be saved but this is because of the adv heur .

    Pictures say it all:
     

    Attached Files:

  18. the_sly_dog

    the_sly_dog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    The Heart Of London
    But i have not got divx in or have i downloaded it i can not scan as soon as i click scan it all goes crazy pc is unusable
     
  19. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
    Using 2794, the scan speed went down from +7 min to 1:25 :thumb: Unpacking error still remains
     
  20. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Please elaborate as to what unpacking error you mean.
     
  21. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
  22. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
    Another screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Gribus

    Gribus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    When will this be fixed ?

    ( just askin' )

    ... support please ...
     
  24. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
    Just tried it, and no more errors. :thumb: So with one of the last updates, 2799/2801/2802 there was a fix.
     
  25. Gribus

    Gribus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Allright !! Thnx Eset !

    enne.. Bedankt voor de tip Hollander ;)

    Ciao !
    Gribus Grunt
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.