NOD32 v2.7 RC1 released

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 v3 Beta Forum' started by agoretsky, Nov 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    NOD32 v2.7 Release Candidate 1 (v2.70.12) was released today on November 8, 2006.


    WHAT'S NEW
    This release contains the following changes from the previous beta test release version (v2.70.09):
    • Fixed issue with NOD32 On-Demand Scanner closing under Windows Vista
    • Fixed issue with IMON that prevented Scheduler services from starting under Windows Vista
    • In the Access Monitor (AMON) module, there is now one option for moving infected files to quarantine
    Other small changes may appear as well in the user interface and online help.


    DOWNLOAD INSTRUCTIONS
    NOD32 v2.7 RC1 (v2.70.12) is now available for download from the following locations on ESET's servers:

    NOD32 v2.7 RC1 (v2.70.12) for Microsoft Windows NT 4.0, 2000, XP, 2003 Server and Vista (32/64-bit) - Licensed
    English - http://u4.eset.com/rc/ndntenst.exe
    Slovak - http://u4.eset.com/rc/ndntskst.exe
    This version of NOD32 is for Windows NT-derived operating systems and may be downloaded by anyone. It does, however, require a valid username and password to download updates once it has been installed. If you already have a license for NOD32, this is the version you should download.

    NOD32 v2.7 RC1 (v2.70.12) for Microsoft Windows 95, 98 and Me - Licensed
    English - http://u4.eset.com/rc/nd98enst.exe
    Slovak - http://u4.eset.com/rc/nd98skst.exe
    This version of NOD32 is for Windows 95-derived operating systems and may be downloaded by anyone. It does, however, require a valid username and password to download updates once it has been installed. If you already have a license for NOD32, this is the version you should download.

    NOD32 v2.7 RC1 (v2.70.12) for Microsoft Windows NT 4.0, 2000, XP, 2003 Server and Vista (32/64-bit) - Trial
    English - http://u4.eset.com/rc/eval/ndntenst.exe
    Slovak - http://u4.eset.com/rc/eval/ndntskst.exe
    This version of NOD32 is for Windows NT-derived operating systems and may be downloaded by anyone. It is actually a licensed version with a username and password bundled into the installer. If you do not have a license for NOD32, this is the version you should download.

    NOD32 v2.7 RC1 (v2.70.12) for Microsoft Windows 95, 98 and Me - Trial
    English - http://u4.eset.com/rc/eval/nd98enst.exe
    Slovak - http://u4.eset.com/rc/eval/nd98skst.exe
    This version of NOD32 is for Windows 95-derived operating systems and may be downloaded by anyone. It is actually a licensed version with a username and password bundled into the installer. If you do not have a license for NOD32, this is the version you should download.


    INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS
    NOTE: Please uninstall the beta test version of NOD32 v2.70 before installing the release candidate.

    After installation, please provide feedback via the NOD32 Beta section of the ESET NOD32 Antivirus Forum, or by sending email to beta27@eset.sk. Thank you.


    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2006
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Got it and installed it without a Glitch! Keep up the Great work Eset!

    Cheers,;)
     
  3. smith2006

    smith2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    760
    If this is the case, whatever configuration set before will be lost. Is there a way to install over instead?

    When NOD32 v2.7 goes on live, will we be able to upgrade using automatic update? Or must we do an uninstall & reinstall (previous configuration will lose again)?
     
  4. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Would also like to know since we have to uninstall, how if there is a way previous setting ban be retained?

    Gary
     
  5. oliviacond

    oliviacond Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    yes! It fixed my Beta's bug issue. Great!
     
  6. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    You can try upgrading a beta version to a release candidate, however, it is an unsupported path. In other words, if there is a problem during the upgrade, the scope of our support will be limited to asking you to uninstall the beta test version and performing a fresh install of the newer version.

    Please keep in mind that beta test versions of products are exactly that; test versions of a product provided for a select group of advanced users to test with. Before a beta test version is released to the public it goes through numerous test cycles to ensure it is of the highest quality we can verify, however, we realize there are more computer configurations out there with operating environments than we are capable of reproducing in-house, and we provide beta test versions so that people can give us feedback on how well a product works in those types of environments.

    While the beta test cycle has gone extraordinarly smoothly, there were some reports of problems from the testers, and those have been addressed in the release candidate. What we are now waiting for is to hear back from the testers who reported those issues to let us know that they no longer occur.

    What this does mean, though, is that changes were made between the beta test and the release candidate code, and that while we believe the release candidate to be the apex of development from the point of stability, reliability and usability, we have not spent a lot of QA cycles formally verifying the upgrade path from the beta test to the release candidate code. Now, the NOD32 2.x codebase has been fairly stable for a very long time and I really don't expect that there would be problems migrating from a beta to a release candidate: The architects and developers behind NOD32 are a very conservative bunch and tend to make decisions limiting the ability of the program to misbehave, but that does not mean that the code is error-free and it is possible you may have the one computing environment in the world which is configured in just such a way that upgrading from the beta to the RC code fails in an unpredictable fashion. I would like to note that upgrading from earlier production versions will be tested.

    I mentioned this before, though, and I want to reiterate it again: From my point of view, things seemed to go extraordinarily smoothly with the beta test cycle for NOD32 v2.7. There were a couple of issues which were reported back to us with the beta, but they were not severe in that they caused issues like system crashes or data loss, which are fairly common when testing software which interacts with the system at a low-level like anti-virus software does. I have run beta test programs before for other software, including anti-virus, and off the top of my head cannot think of a beta test cycle that has been so free of tester-reported problems. Frankly, I am a little in awe of the development processes which led to such a boring beta test cycle.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  7. izi

    izi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Posts:
    354
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Hello!

    NOD32 didn't update (virus signature at windows start up) after a fresh installation.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    i think now i can try the new version considering that fact that very neglible bugs have been found..
    kudos 2 d team!
     
  9. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Yep, this one works quite well too.
     
  10. Esvee

    Esvee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    :thumb: Working great! Looking forward to the final! :D (so glad I can finally use nod32 on vista instead of some other AV which doesn't do half the job noddy does :p)
     
  11. kjempen

    kjempen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Posts:
    379
    I did a clean install of the RC. I noticed the problem I described here (not scanning all files marked when doing context menu scan) is also in this version. Other than that, it seems to work just fine.
     
  12. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    NOD32 accepts 100 parameters at maximum, maybe there were some files with other than standard extensions, and you forgot to choose to scan all files.

    OS limitations:
    Windows 95/98/ME - 127 parameters at maximum
    WinNT 4 and Win2000 - 2047 parameters at maximum
    Windows XP and newer - 8191 parameters at maximum

    In order to comply with all OS, I assume that 100 parameters is enough given that you might want to add some further command line pameters as well.
     
  13. Chris12923

    Chris12923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    Does this also include a fix for the on demand scanning stopping when GreenBorder is installed. I have downloaded the first beta (not RC1) and then installed the exe provided and that did fix the issue but now wandering if installing RC1 has the updated code in it already.

    Thanks,

    Chris
     
  14. izi

    izi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Posts:
    354
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Hello!

    Somethnig is wrong with servers for updating or with NOD32 RC!! NOD32 doesn't update virus signature. :'(
     

    Attached Files:

  15. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I am also getting update problems.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2006
  16. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
  17. DooGie

    DooGie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    112
    I had the update problem but found the solution was to look in any temp folders on your PC for nod32 related files. If you find any delete them and then run update again. It worked ok when I tried it here.
     
  18. Patounet

    Patounet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Belgium
    Cool, work now, thanks for this tips.
     
  19. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Still can,t. It,s really bad.
     
  20. smith2006

    smith2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    760
    No problem at my end, I managed to update the Version of signatures to 1860 (20061109).

    It is a very big file, the size is about 5.4 MB. :eek:

    This might be the reason why you have difficulty in updating ( read from your other thread, you are using dial up?).
     
  21. Alwill

    Alwill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Being the bloody impatient type I am and not bothering to scroll to the bottom of the webpage and sighting the 'Installation Instructions', I downloaded 2.7 rc yesterday and installed over the top of beta version; encountered no problems in the install and apart from having to re-enter User Name and Password all other settings retained. To this stage and from what I have seen and encountered, the rc version is working as smooth as silk including pulling in the 1860 update that was causing a problem for others.
    Keeping the fingers crossed.
     
  22. sziltner

    sziltner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Am I missing somethingo_O Or did eSet forget something? I could care less about Vista, I have been holding my breath waiting for the NOD32 with the firewall, so I can get rid of ZA Pro.

    Steve
     
  23. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Ya, I have dial up that is one more reason. Anyway I think in few days it will be oK when servers are not busy.They should have included definitions in the installer.
     
  24. Esvee

    Esvee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    No your not missing anything, but the day that ESET release ANY info about ESET Security Suite (the one with the firewall and antispam) will be a very glorious day..indeed..One step at a time. I don't mind waiting cos I hope ESET are doing massively extensive testing so that when it is released it'll uphold their reputation like noddy has..
    anyways, back to the rc
     
  25. X3ro

    X3ro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Posts:
    69
    Location:
    Omsk, Russia
    I've just installed nod32 rc OVER the old beta. Settings are still with me :). No update problems, just big updates' size but this may be total "redrawing" of the bases...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.